Williams named NAIA All-American

By Montana Tech Sports information.
KANSAS CITY, Mo.-  The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced its three men’s basketball All-America teams Monday, just days after the conclusion of the 86th annual NAIA Men’s Basketball National Championship. Montana Tech’s Asa Williams was named to the Third Team.

The senior from Solon, Ohio averaged 16.5 points, 3.3 rebounds, and 1.8 assists per game. He was named to the Frontier Conference 1st Team All-Conference after the Frontier Tournament. In his time at Montana Tech, he scored 968 points, while shooting 44.9% from the field. During his playing time at Montana Tech, Asa helped secure back-to-back Frontier Conference regular season championships, along with back-to-back Frontier Conference tournament championships.

Elijah Malone of Grace (Ind.) was named the NAIA Player of the Year after guiding the Lancers to an incredible 34-2 record and a berth to the NAIA Fab Four. Additionally, Drew Stutts of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) was named the NAIA Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to a come-from-behind win to capture the 2024 NAIA Men’s Basketball Red Banner. Grace’s Scott Moore was named the NABC-NAIA Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Two teams of 12 players each and a third team of made-up of 19 players comprise the full list. Oklahoma Wesleyan and The Master’s (Calif.) both had two players listed on the second team, the only schools to have more than one player listed on any given team. College of Idaho and Langston (Okla.) both had two selections named to different teams.

As a whole, six players moved from honorable mention a season ago to one of the three NAIA All-America teams in 2024. Of that group, Anthony Brown of MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) was the only player to move from honorable mention in 2023 to first team in 2024. Cevin Clark of Southwestern (Kan.) was the lone player to remain a first team selection in 2024 after earning the honor in 2023. Zach Goodline, Jaden Lietzke, Tyler Schmidt, Kaleb Lowery, Michael Hayes and Drew Wyman were also returning All-America selections from a year ago.