Weber men will host Big Sky tournament

OGDEN, Utah — Weber State University has clinched hosting rights for the 2014 Big Sky Conference Men’s Basketball Championship.

The Wildcats stand at 13-7 in conference play with two games remaining. Weber State has clinched at least a share of the regular-season title. Montana and North Dakota could still potentially tie Weber State for the title, but Weber State would win the tiebreaker.

The 2014 Big Sky Conference Men’s Basketball Championship will begin Thursday, March 13 at the Dee Events Center in Ogden, Utah, with three games. The No. 2 seed will play the No. 7 seed at 2 p.m. Mountain. The No. 3 seed will play the No. 6 seed at 4:30 p.m., followed by the third game at 7 p.m. featuring the No. 4 seed taking on the No. 5 seed.

As the No. 1 seed, Weber State earns a first-round bye. The Wildcats will play in Friday’s second game against the lowest remaining seed at 7 p.m. The two highest remaining seeds from Thursday’s game will play in the first semifinal game at 4:30 p.m. Mountain.

Saturday’s championship game will be played at 6 p.m. Mountain, and will be televised live on ESPNU.

Tickets will go on sale Monday morning through Weber State University’s ticket office. Current Weber State season ticket holders will be able to purchase tickets beginning Monday at 10 a.m. Season ticket holds will have until Wednesday, March 5 at 6 p.m. to reserve their seats.

Tickets for the general public will go on sale on Thursday, March 6 at 10 a.m. Tickets can be purchased in Ogden at at the WSU Ticket office at the Dee Events Center, the Browning Center or at the Weber State Campus Stores campus and downtown locations. Tickets can also be purchased online at

All of the Thursday and Friday games can be viewed for free at, or through the new Watch Big Sky app on Droid and Apple devices. Fans can download the App through the Google Play and Apple Store.

Weber State, under head coach Randy Rahe, can clinch the outright league title with one more win, or with losses by North Dakota and Montana.

This will mark the 10th time the Big Sky Championship has been played at the Dee Events Center. Weber State last hosted the championship at the end of the 2009-10 season.

One week remains in the Big Sky Conference regular season, and 12 games are on tap. Weber State is the only team to have clinched a postseason bid. North Dakota is currently in second place at 11-7, followed by Montana at 10-7. Northern Colorado and Northern Arizona are 10-8. Montana State is 9-8. Sacramento State, Eastern Washington and Portland State are 9-9. Idaho State is 8-10. Southern Utah has been eliminated from postseason contention at 0-18. The top seven teams qualify for the championship.

Full pairings should be available late Saturday night, the Ratings Percentage Index released on Sunday morning is needed to resolve a tiebreaker.

— Big Sky Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email