Wachholz, Svennungsen win state handball title

Wachholz, Svennungsen win state handball title

MISSOULA — Kalispell’s Chance Wachholz and Spokane’s Pete Svennungsen defeated defending champions Brett Badovinac and Don Foley from Butte 21-4, 21-5 to win the Montana Open Doubles Handball Championship. It is Wachholz’s fourth state double title and second playing with Svennungsen.

The Peak Racquet Club hosted the event as Montana Handball celebrates its 100th anniversary of the state championships.

Badovinac and Foley claimed the Masters division, which was combined with the Open.

Missoula’s Kirk Johnson and Dave Montelius captured the Golden Masters title. Rick Harrington of Missoula teamed with Mike Meyer of Billings to win the Super Golden Masters.

Tom Morris of Billings and Russ Whitten of Red Lodge won the Diamond Masters.

Russ Akerhelm of Spokane teamed with Eric Plummer of Coeur d’Alene to win the A division.


Quarterfinals – Brett Badovinac / Don Foley, Butte def. Nate Guza / Eric Aschim, Missoula; Sean Sandau / Moe Johnson, Missoula def. Jared Wierson / Don Schmidt, Missoula; Brian Schweyen, Missoula / John Chapman, Frenchtown def. Steve Maier, Missoula / Eric Plummer, Coeur d’Alene, ID; Chance Wachholz, Kalispell / Pete Svennungsen, Spokane, WA

Semifinals – Badovinac / Foley def. Sandau / Johnson; Wachholz / Svennungsen def. Schweyen / Chapman

Final – Wachholz / Svennungsen def. Badovinac / Foley 21-4, 21-5

Golden Masters (50+)

Round Robin

Kirk Johnson / Dave Montelius, Missoula 2-0

Russ Akerhelm, Spokane, WA / Don Schmidt, Missoula 1-1

Jeff Armstrong, Billings / Dan Adams, Helena 0-2

Final – Johnson / Montelius def. Akerhelm / Schmidt 21-13, 21-8

Super Golden Masters (60+)

Round Robin

Rick Harrington, Missoula / Mike Meyer, Billings 3-0

John Larson, East Helena / Craig Canfield, Billings 2-1

Robin Peters / Doug Davis, Missoula 1-2

Chris Holmann / Paul Polzin, Missoula 0-3

Final – Harrington / Meyer def. Larson / Canfield 21-12, 21-13

Diamond Masters (70+)

Round Robin

Tom Morris, Billings / Russ Whitten, Red Lodge 4-0 (defeated Peters / Semanski 14-21, 21-9, 11-10)

Robin Peters, Missoula / Monk Semanski, Highwood 3-1

Phil Kulbeck / Dick Fox, Billings 2-2

Bob Gesimer, Missoula / Dan Ferriter, Missoula 1-3

Rick Johns, Missoula / Wally Page, Florence 0-4

A Division

Semifinals – Dave Montelius / Brandt Montelius, Missoula def. Nate Guz / Eric Aschim, Missoula; Russ Akerhelm, Spokane, WA / Eric Plummer, Coeur d’Alene, ID d. Jared Wierson / Don Schmidt, Missoula

Final – Akerhelm / Plummer def. Wierson / Schmidt

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email