UM’s Holmes and Jones pick up more All-America accolades

MISSOULA — Montana senior defensive end Tyrone Holmes and senior wide receiver Jamaal Jones have added a second All-American feather to their caps, following the announcement of the Associated Press All-American teams on Wednesday.

Holmes picks up his second first-team nod in as many days, while Jones earns a place on the AP’s second team.

Holmes, a finalist for the STATS FCS national Defensive Player of the Year award, finished his career at Montana second on UM’s all-time career sack list with 34.5, and second on UM’s all-time career tackle for loss list with 49.5.

Holmes was the nation’s leader in sacks during the 2015 season, amassing 18 on the year, one shy of tying the Montana single season sack record of 19 set by Andy Petek.

The senior from Eagle Point, Oregon, is set to play in the annual East-West Shrine Game on January 23, one of college football’s premiere all-star events.

Jamaal Jones became Montana’s all-time leading receiver this season, amassing 3,021 career receiving yards during his three years as a Grizzly.

The two were also recognized with an All-American vote from

— Montana Sports Information

Associated Press All-America Team



Quarterback — Dakota Prukop, junior, Montana State.

Running backs — Marshaun Coprich, senior, Illinois State; Kade Harrington, junior, Lamar.

Linemen — Joe Haeg, senior, North Dakota State; Donald Jackson III, senior, Sam Houston State; Clay DeBord, senior, Eastern Washington; Nick Ritcher, senior, Richmond; Cole Toner, senior, Harvard.

Receivers — Cooper Kupp, junior, Eastern Washington; Jake Wieneke, sophomore, South Dakota State.

Tight end — Ben Braunecker, senior, Harvard.

All-purpose — Johnta’ Hebert, senior, Prairie View A&M.

Kicker — Anthony Pistelli, senior, Samford.


Linemen — Tyrone Holmes, senior, Montana; Noah Spence, junior, Eastern Kentucky; Javon Hargrave, senior, South Carolina State; James Cowser, senior, Southern Utah.

Linebackers — Deon King, senior, Norfolk State; Stephen Hodge, senior, Fordham; Don Cherry, senior, Villanova.

Backs — Patrick Onwuasor, senior, Portland State; Deiondre’ Hall, senior, Northern Iowa; DeAndre Houston-Carson, senior, William & Mary; Jermaine Hough, senior, Jacksonville State.

Punter — Ryan Hawkins, senior, Northern Arizona.



Quarterback — Eli Jenkins, junior, Jacksonville State.

Running backs — Chase Edmonds, sophomore, Fordham; Jacobi Green, senior, Richmond.

Linemen — Corey Levin, junior, Chattanooga; Jonathan Burgess, senior, Liberty; Ben Curtis, senior, Delaware; Aaron Neary, senior, Eastern Washington; Bruce Johnson, senior, Maine.

Receivers — Brian Brown, junior, Richmond; Jamaal Jones, senior, Montana.

Tight end — Beau Sandland, senior, Montana State.

All-purpose player — John Santiago, freshman, North Dakota.

Kicker — Nick Dorka, sophomore, William & Mary.


Linemen — Victor Ochi, senior, Stony Brook; Chima Uzowihe, senior, Liberty; Keionta Davis, junior, Chattanooga; Mitchell Jeter, senior, The Citadel.

Linebackers — Christian Kuntz, senior, Duquesne; Darnell Sankey, senior, Sacramento State; Myke Tavarres, senior, Incarnate Word.

Backs — Dee Delaney, sophomore, The Citadel; Donald Payne, junior, Stetson; Harlan Miller, senior, Southeastern Louisiana; Wallace Scott, senior, McNeese State.

Punter — Ben LeCompte, senior, North Dakota State.



Quarterback — Case Cookus, freshman, Northern Arizona.

Running backs —Troymaine Pope, senior, Jacksonville State; De’Angelo Henderson, junior, Coastal Carolina.

Linemen — Garrick Mayweather, senior, Fordham; Erik Austell, junior, Charleston Southern; Zack Johnson, junior, North Dakota State; John Weidenaar, senior, Montana State; Mitch Kirsch, junior, James Madison.

Receivers — Emmanuel Butler, sophomore, Northern Arizona; Anthony Warrum, junior, Illinois State.

Tight end — Eric Saubert, senior, Drake.

All-purpose player — Willie Quinn, senior, Southern University.

Kicker — Chris Moore, senior, Northwestern State.


Linemen — O.J. Mau, senior, Gardner-Webb; Derek Rivers, junior, Youngstown State; Dino Fanti, senior, Eastern Illinois; P.J. Hall, sophomore, Sam Houston State.

Linebackers — Kourtney Berry, junior, Alabama State; Tyler Drake, senior, Penn; John Hugunin, senior, Drake.

Backs — Justin Grier, senior, Morehead State; David Jones, junior, Richmond; Casey DeAndrade, junior, New Hampshire; Clayton Ewell, senior, Bucknell.

Punter — Cory Carter, senior, Texas Southern.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email