Tournament Notes

The 2013 prep basketball season is now a thing of the past. There were lots of footnotes to this year’s season.

The highlight for Butte fans was seeing all four local teams make it to the state tournament during the same school year. It is the first time that has ever taken place.
In Class AA boys, the appearance by Helena Capital was only the second time the Bruins have made it to the title game. The other time was in 1983 when they beat Billings Senior

46-45 in triple overtime. This time the Bruins went into overtime, but got beat by Missoula Hellgate.

Speaking of triple overtime, that is what Malta and Wolf Point did in the Class B Boys’ title match at the Civic Center. It is only the third time in history the boys title game went into three overtimes. The other two were the Bruins win in 1983 and the 1985 Class B match between Malta and Browning. The Mustangs won that triple OT game 95-90. Malta was golden again this time beating the Wolves 65-62.

The Class A boys’ title game saw Stevensville win their first-ever state basketball title. The Yellowjackets had been in the championship tilt five times before losing in 1977, 1993, 1999, 2000 and 2001. Keith Chambers was the head coach of Stevensville in four of those five loses. This time, in his final game as a head coach, Chambers went out in style with a 73-59 victory over Billings Central in the finals.

Stevensville was not the only school winning their first state crown. Roy-Winifred also took top honors for the first time in Class C Boys.

On the girls side of things, domination is the theme. In Class AA girls, Olivia Roberts lead Missoula Sentinel to their second straight crown. Class AA coaches hate to note she is only a junior and can three-peat next season.

In Class B, the same theme is evident. Fairfield won their 78 straight game on Saturday night with a win over Townsend in the Class B finals. It is their third straight title.

Belt kept the theme of repeat going in Class C winning their second straight crown.

In Class A, the domination of three teams continues. In the last three years, only three schools have played in the finals, Butte Central, Billings Central and Laurel. This time it was Laurel’s turn to win with the Lady Rams coming in second and the Lady Maroons placing fourth.

It was a fun year filled with lots of memories and individual plays that will last a lifetime