Tommy Mellott named the 2023 FedEx Ground Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award

BOZEMAN, Montana – Montana State junior quarterback Tommy Mellott was named the 2023 FedEx Ground Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award recipient, Stats Perform announced Tuesday.

The Butte High School product becomes the ninth winner of the FedEx Ground Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award. He is the first Bobcat, and the first from the Big Sky Conference, to land this honor.

“We are extremely proud of Tommy being honored with the prestigious Doris Robinson Award,” said Montana State head coach Brent Vigen. “Tommy truly represents all that this award represents. He has done an amazing job on the field for the Bobcats and continues to excel in the classroom here at Montana State.  He is a leader on our team as a two-time captain and his willingness to give back to our community of Bozeman, his hometown of Butte and across the entire state of Montana is exemplary.”

The FedEx Ground Doris Robinson Award is named for the late school teacher and wife of legendary Grambling State head coach Eddie Robinson, and is presented to an FCS student-athlete who excels on the playing field, in the classroom and across the community. He was one of 15 finalists, one from each conference in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision.

Mellott has started at quarterback since the beginning of the 2021 FCS Playoffs, when he rushed for 180 yards to lead MSU to a win over UT Martin. That began a magical run to that season’s FCS Championship Game, and in his time at MSU he has now thrown for 3,241 yards and 24 touchdowns, rushing for 2474 yards and 29 scores. In nine games this fall, Mellott completed 63 percent of his passes (74-for-118) and 1,059 yards, with 10 touchdowns and two interceptions. He also gained 690 yards on the ground, averaging 8.1 yards per carry.

Mellott will be honored at the Stats Perform FCS National Awards banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas.


2022 – Jake Chisholm, RB, Dayton

2021 – Zeveyon Furcron, OL, Southern Illinois

2020 – Jessie Malit, DE, North Carolina Central

2019 – Alex Pechin, P, Bucknell

2018 – Christopher Infantino, OL, Stony Brook

2017 – Jake Wieneke, WR, South Dakota State

2016 – Tyler Swafford, QB, Eastern Kentucky

2015 – Dalton Screws, WR, Jacksonville State