Three Tech men receive All-Conference honors

Three Tech men receive All-Conference honors
From left, Montana Tech's Dylan Pannabecker, Taylor England and Sindou Diallo are shown in these Butte Sports file photos.

WHITEFISH — Three Montana Tech men’s basketball players were named to the 2019-2020 Frontier Conference All-Conference men’s basketball team today.

Montana Tech juniors Sindou Diallo and Taylor England were both selected first team all-conference by the league’s coaches, while senior Dylan Pannabecker was selected honorable mention all-conference.

Diallo was selected the Frontier Conference Newcomer of the Year, and England was selected Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Lewis-Clark State’s Damek Mitchell.

Diallo, a 6-foot-3 guard from Tacoma, Washington, was the second leading scorer in the Frontier Conference averaging 19.1 points per game. Diallo led the Orediggers in scoring 17 times and eclipsed the 20-point mark in 17 games.

England, a 6-7 post from Helena, was sixth in the league in scoring averaging 15.2 points per game, second in shooting percentage (56.9 percent), second in rebounding (9.0 rebounds per game), and third in steals (1.6 per game). England finished the year with 11 double-doubles and set the single game rebounding record with 22 boards against Rocky Mountain College on February 29.

Pannabecker, a 6-4 guard from Choteau, averaged 10.1 points per game. He averaged 4.9 rebounds, 1.7 assists, and 1.5 steals per game.

Lewis-Clark State College’s Austin Johnson was selected as the 2019-2020 Coach of the Year. University of Providence junior guard Zaccheus Darko-Kelly, was selected as the league’s Player of the Year. Lewis-Clark State junior forward Jake Albright was selected Sixth-Man of the Year.  Carroll College’s Dennis Flowers III was named Freshman of the Year.

Montana Tech junior Cody Baumstarck was named the Champion of Character award winner for the Oredigger men’s basketball program.

Montana Tech finished the 2019-2020 season with a record of 18-12 overall and 10-8 in Frontier Conference play, the most wins in a single season for the program since 1998-1999 and the first back-to-back winning seasons in 20 years.

Additionally, Montana Tech hosted a home playoff game for the first time in two decades. The Orediggers also posted the program’s first NCAA Division I win in program history when they defeated the University of Montana on Nov. 18.

Click here to see all the Frontier Conference players who were recognized.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email