Tech’s Sean Benson named All-Conference

Tech’s Sean Benson named All-Conference
Montana Tech Sean Benson reacts after sinking a long par putt on hole No. 3 during the 2016 Oredigger Invitational at the Butte Country Club. (Butte Sports file photo)

WHITEFISH — The Frontier Conference announced the 2017-18 Men’s Golf All-Conference Team, and Sean Benson from Montana Tech was selected for the conference honor.

The All-Conference team is determined by the results of the league’s regular season tournaments completed last fall. The top five golfers receive first team honors and the second five receive second team honors.

Benson, a junior from Billings, finished in the top three of all three conference tournaments. Benson won the MSU-Northern Invitational to open the season, finished in third at the Carroll College Classic, and second at the Lewis-Clark Invite.

Rocky Mountain College’s Michael Tate was named Player of the Year. Rocky’s Reece Nilsen and Mitchell Thiessen shared Freshman of the Year honors. Bears’ head coach Aaron Pohle was named Coach of the Year.

The Orediggers wrap up the year with the Frontier Conference Tournament in Arizona in April.

— Montana Tech

Frontier Conference All-Conference Team
First Team

Shaun Harpiin, sophomore, Lewis-Clark State
Tucker Keyes, junior, Lewis-Clark State
Hunter Weitze, junior, Lewis-Clark State
Sean Benson, junior, Montana Tech
Michael Tate, sophomore, Rocky Mountain College

Second Team
Brandon Barnes, senior, Lewis-Clark State
Travis Hansen, freshman, Lewis-Clark State
HoTae Kim, sophomore, Rocky Mountain College
Reece Nilsen, freshman, Rocky Mountain College
Mitchell Thiessen, freshman, Rocky Mountain College

First Team
Marissa Louder, junior, Lewis-Clark State
Eryn Ellis, junior, Rocky Mountain College
Anna DeMars, sophomore, Rocky Mountain College
Hayden Flohr, sophomore, Rocky Mountain College
Gina Kowalchuk, senior, University of Providence

Second Team
Blake Greenup, senior, Lewis-Clark State
Kayla Monroe senior, Lewis-Clark State
Amanda Conner, freshman, Rocky Mountain College
Jenna Jensen, junior, MSU-Northern
Morgan O’Neil, freshman, Rocky Mountain College

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email