Tech’s Sanders three-peats on all-conference team

Tech’s Sanders three-peats on all-conference team
Tyler Sanders (55) waits for a defensive call alongside James Foote (98) and Carter Myers in Tech's Oct. 21 win over MSU-Northern. (Butte Sports photo)

WHITEFISH — Call him Ty Sanders or call him Tyler Sanders.

It doesn’t matter as long as you call the Montana Tech senior a three-time first-team All-Frontier Conference defensive lineman.

The Frontier Conference released its all-conference teams today, and Sanders was one of 11 Montana Tech players to make the cut. The four-year starter made the first team for the third straight year.

In 2016, he made the team as “Tyler.” In 2015 he made it as “Ty.”

In 2017, the Helena Capital product is listed as “Tyler” after anchoring the Oredigger defense with 46 tackles, five and a half tackles for a loss and one sack.

Southern Oregon quarterback Tanner Trosin was named Offensive Player of the Year. He is also the league’s nominee for NAIA Player of the year.

Eastern Oregon linebacker Michael Arenas took home Defensive Player of the Year, while Southern Oregon coach Charlie Hall was selected Coach of the Year.

Montana Tech sophomore running back Jed Fike, who ran for 1,252 yards before suffering an ankle injury early in his ninth game, made the first team along with junior receiver Dion Williams, who led the league with 77 receptions for 1,004 yards.

Junior receiver Levi Lynde earned first-team honors as a punt returner. His season included a school-record 88-yard touchdown return against Eastern Oregon.

(Story continues below photo gallery)

Tech senior quarterback Quinn McQueary was named to the second team on offense along with senior offensive linemen Jalen Whitley and Jack Hape.

Senior cornerback Andre Brown made the second team on defense along with Oredigger junior teammates Connor Wines at linebacker and Chance Hansen at defensive line.

Senior defensive lineman Levi Dawes was selected a Champion of Character.

Montana Western placed six players on the all-conference team. All six received second-team recognition.

Senior receiver George Sherwood received second-team honors at two positions, as a receiver and kick returner.

Senior offensive lineman Donovan Hucke earned a spot on the second team while being named a Champion of Character.

Other Bulldogs to make the second team were running back Hunter Thomsen, receiver Melvin Walser, defensive lineman Conlan Smith and linebacker Jason Ferris.

Carroll College placed eight players on the all-conference team, including six first-team selections.

Running back Major Ali, tight end Eric Dawson, offensive lineman Chris Emter, defensive lineman Alex Basterrechea, defensive back Tucker Johnson and kick return Shane Snipes took home first-team recognition.

Offensive lineman Joel Kramer and linebacker David Anderson were named second-team players. Basterrechea was named a Champion of Character.

Click the link below for the full list of all-conference players from the Frontier Conference.

2017 Football All-Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email