Tech’s Benson named first-team All-Frontier

Montana Tech true freshman golfer Sean Benson was named to the 2015-16 Frontier Conference All-Conference team.

The league announced the post-season honors today, and Benson, a Billings Senior graduate, was named to the first team.

The honor comes near the end of a season that saw Benson win the MSU-Billings Invitational in the fall. He also finished second at the MSU-Northern Invitational in Shelby.

Benson, who currently sits in fourth place in the Frontier Conference overall standings, was named Frontier Conference Player of the Week on Oct. 12.

The Orediggers and the rest of the Frontier Conference will travel to Phoenix, Arizona, April 18 for the Frontier Conference Championships.

Lewis-Clark State’s Cole Lorenzo was named Player of the Year, while Rocky Mountain College’s Colton Murphy took home Freshman of the Year honors. Lewis-Clark State’s Paul Thompson was named Coach of the Year.

On the women’s side, the University of Great Fall’s Gina Kowalchuk is Player of the Year. Marissa Louder of Lewis-Clark State received Freshman of the Year honors, while Lewis-Clark State’s Paul Thompson and Rocky Mountain’s Aaron Pohle were named Women’s Co-Coaches of the Year.


First Team

Name                             School                                     Yr.         Hometown

Sean Benson                  Montana Tech                         Fr.          Billings

Jordy Donoven              Rocky Mountain College       Sr.          Kremlin

Chris Lien                      Lewis-Clark State College     Sr.          Heppner, Ore.

Cole Lorenzo                 Lewis-Clark State College     Sr.          Richland, Wash.

Colton Murphy              Rocky Mountain College       Fr.          Mandan, N.D.

Second Team

Name                             School                                     Yr.         Hometown

Casey Brown                 Lewis-Clark State College     Jr.           Rosalia, Wash.

Justin Galiher                Carroll College                       Jr.           Missoula

Taylor Noble                 Rocky Mountain College       Sr.          Columbus

Kurt Simmons               Lewis-Clark State College     Sr.          Hermiston, Ore.

Taylor Smith                 Lewis-Clark State College     Jr.           Vancouver, Wash.



First Team

Name                             School                                     Yr.         Hometown

Kyla Clancy                   Rocky Mountain College       Sr.          Park City

Karina Davila                Lewis-Clark State College     Sr.          Cordoba, Veracruz, Mexico

Allison Kadinger           Lewis-Clark State College     So.          Kennewick, Wash.

Gina Kowalchuk            University of Great Falls       So.          Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Marissa Louder             Lewis-Clark State College     Fr.          Fillmore, Utah

McKenzie Webinger     Rocky Mountain College       Sr.          Laurel

Second Team

Name                             School                                     Yr.         Hometown

Nellie Enderby              Rocky Mountain College       Fr.          Spearfish, S.D

Holly Hodges                 Lewis-Clark State                   So.          Boise, Idaho

Kayla Monroe                Lewis-Clark State                   So.          Tumwater, Wash.

Janci Spoo                     Lewis-Clark State                   Sr.          Hermiston, Ore.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email