Tech, Western, Caroll women named Scholar-Athletes

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Three players each from the Montana Tech and Montana Western women’s basketball teams were named 2012-13 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes.

The announcement came this morning from the site of the Division I National Basketball Championships.

Montana Tech senior Erika Jenkins and junior teammates Kelsey DeWit and Lisa Laslovich were named to a team that included 124 Division I players from around the country.

Seniors Brittney Leibenguth and Kassi Kerbs and junior Sammi Bignell represent Montana Western on the team. Senior Jackie Gebhardt of Carroll College also received the honor.

In order to be nominated for the honor by a head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

Click here to see all 124 honorees.