Six champions crowned at City Hoop Shoot

Six champions crowned at City Hoop Shoot
Five Hoop Shoot winners show off their trophies Saturday at the Maroon Activities Center. They are, from left, Ryan Peoples, Cade Kelly, Arika Stajcar, Doug Peoples and Brooke Badovinac. Dylenn Powers also won a title. She had to leave before this photo was taken. (Butte Sports photo)

Six young athletes claimed City Hoop Shoot championships Saturday at the Elks Lodge No. 240 Hoop Shoot Contest at the Maroon Activities Center.

Five of the six champions are Butte Central students.

Doug Peoples and Brooke Badovinac had the best day. Peoples sank 22 of 25 shots for his fourth City title, winning the boys’ 12-13 age group.

Badovinac won her second title, sinking 21 shots to win the girls’ 10-11 crown. She beat her closest competitors by 10 shots.

Whittier’s Dylean Powers was the only champion to not attend BC. She won the girls’ 8-9 age group. Powers sank seven shots to claim the crown.

BC’s Cade Kelly drilled 18 shots to win the boys’ 8-9 age group. He beat West Elementary’s Bradey Doyle by one shot.

Ryan Peoples sank 18 shots to win the boys’ 10-11 group. Dylan Bache of Margaret Leary claimed second place at 16.

Kayden Fultz of East Middle School placed second behind Doug Peoples in the boys’ 12-13. He sank 18 shots and topped Jack Keeley of Hillcrest in shoot off.

In the girls’ 10-11 group, BC’s Arika Stajcar took home the title. Stajcar hit seven shots then sank 4 out of 5 in a shoot off to top Gracie Ferriter of Whittier for the title.

The winner in each age group advances to the District Contest, which is Saturday, Jan. 6 at the Straugh Gymnasium in Dillon. The runner-up in each category is an alternate.

Each shooter to compete Saturday qualified by winning contests at his or her school.

Girls 8-9
Dylenn Powers, Whittier 9
Amiee Gonzales, Emmerson 7
Kate DeShaw, BC 3
Serenity LaPier, Kennedy 3
Ryann Phillips, Margaret Leary 2
Mattie Stepan, West 2
Reena Davisson, Ramsay 1
Boys 8-9
Cade Kelly, BC 18
Bradey Doyle, West 17
Joshua Sutton, Hillcrest 12
Jaxon Williamson, Emmerson 11
Evan McEwen, Whittier 9
Beau Henderson, Ramsay 8
Cole Overlease, Kennedy 4
Girls 10-11
Arika Stajcar, BC 7*
Gracie Ferriter, Whittier 7
Avrielle Boggess, Emmerson 6
Ashlian Mullaney, Margaret Leary 6
Abbey Hardy, Kennedy 3
Addelei Hiatt, Hillcrest 1
Boys 10-11
Ryan Peoples, BC 18
Dylan Bache, Margaret Leary 16
Karsen McEwen, Whittier 12
Jake Ricci, West 11
Chase Choquette, Hillcrest 10
Colton Shea, Emmerson 10
Kaden McGillen, Ramsay 7
Hudson Luedtke, Kennedy 5
Girls 12-13
Brooke Badovinac, BC 21
Merrideth Varady-Harwood, Ramsay 11*
Sonya Trudnowski, West 11
Wisdom Hanninen, East 9
Nevaeh Waldman, Kennedy 9
Ella Moodry, BC 8
Taylor Drakos, Hillcrest 7
Jayna Dixon, Whittier 5
Jonae Overlease, East 3
Boys 12-13
Doug Peoples, BC 22
Kayden Fultz, East 18*
Jack Keeley, Hillcrest 18
Max Fantini, BC 16
Bradley Adreon, West 15
Ryder Hettick, East 12
Hayden Rector, Ramsay 11
Derek Dunmire, Whittier 10
Logan Thomas, Margaret Leary 4
*Won shoot off



Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email