Silver B’s find another rare diamond

Diamonds are quite rare. Diamond B’s might be even rarer.

The Butte High Silver B Football Organization will have a chance to honor a living local legend next month when Don McAuliffe will be recognized for having lettered for the Bulldogs 75 years ago.

Don McAuliffe photo.

McAuliffe will be only the 19th Diamond B in the group’s 84-year history. He first lettered for Butte High during the 1948 season and played End for Coach Harry “Swede” Dahlberg’s squad. McAuliffe is being celebrated this year along with the 1998 letter winners going in as Silver B’s and the 1973 lettermen heading in as Golden B’s.

The 84th Annual Meeting and Induction Ceremony (1940 – 2023) will take place Friday October 6, 2023, at The Butte High School Gymnasium with doors opening at 4 p.m. The meeting and dinner will start at 5:00 p.m. It is a MEMBERS-ONLY meeting and dinner…no guests or alcohol will be permitted. The group will then make its’ way to Naranche Memorial Stadium, to cheer on the 2023 version of the Butte High Bulldogs football team as they play host to the Missoula Hellgate Knights. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m.

Banquet tickets are $24 per person, and annual dues are $5 per person. Members are asked to please R.S.V.P. with prepayment for the event by Friday September 29, 2023. This is critical so that we have an accurate head count to supply to our caterer, so they have time to order the proper quantity of food. Members can fill out and return the top portion of their 2023 brochure via US Mail or they can pay online by accessing our website at All mailings can be returned to Butte High Silver B’s P.O. Box 4655 Butte, MT 59702.

Those participating in the pre-game ceremonies are encouraged to wear their Silver B, Golden B or Diamond B Cap and Pin. Scott Paffhausen is the Historian, Dean Ericson is the President, Rick Edwards is the Vice-President, Northey Tretheway is the Secretary and Matt Pelletier is the Treasurer of the organization.

84th Annual Meeting and Induction Ceremony October 6, 2023

SILVER B INDUCTEES (1998 Squad) – The 1998 squad was coached by Steve Schulte. This was Schulte’s 2nd year as the Head Coach at Butte High School.

1998 Bulldogs.

Bryan Arntson, Tony Ballensky, Anton Brennick, Mike Browne, Jaison Carriger, Jason DeJohn, Mike Dotson, Tucker Downey (DEC), Eric Johnson, Jake Larson, Troy Lopuch, Luke Lowney, Ryan Mickelson, Mick Morris, Pat O’Connell (DEC), Josh Petersen, Ross Richardson, Fred Siebert, John Skeldon, Scott Snow, Josh Stearns, Chris Tierney, Ryan Todorovich, Tyler Triniman, Zach Ueland, and Keith Vinecke.

GOLDEN B INDUCTEES (1973 Squad) – The 1973 squad was coached by Dan Peters. This was Peter’s 1st season as the Head Bulldog Mentor.

Don Becker, Tom Burns (DEC), Don A. Davis, Don Dwyer (DEC), Rick Edwards, Jeff Heard, Jeff Jamison, Jim Janhunen (DEC), Bernie Jurenic (DEC), John Killoy, Mark Kinzle, Ron Lebsock, Rene LeVeaux, Dan Mondloch, Gordon Murray, Bill O’Connell, Bob Quilici, Ed Semansky (DEC), Dave Smith, Pat Sullivan, Tom Trostle (DEC), and Kerry Weightman.

1973 Bulldogs.

DIAMOND B INDUCTEES (1948 Squad) – The 1948 squad was coached by the legendary Harry “Swede” Dahlberg who was in his 27th year as the Head Football Coach at Butte High School.

1948 Squad.

This year we are honoring a gentleman who will become our 19th Diamond B in the 84-year history of the organization. We are truly honored to be inducting Mr. Don McAuliffe.

The remaining first year lettermen from the 1948 squad are now deceased. The Silver B’s would still like to honor the following gentlemen from the 1948 team:

Tom Barrett, Gene DeSylvia, Milton Goodland, Harold Hakala, Bill “Jinx” Janhunen, Jack Klemo, Jack Kyllingstad, William Mular, Don Orlich, Lee Parrett, Frank Shott, and Paul “Bo” Stanich.