Shields wins State A handball title

MISSOULA — Butte handball player Frankie Shields claimed the A Division title at the Montana Open Singles Championships Sunday.

Shields topped Moe Johnson of Missoula in the championship match of the division for Open Division players who lose in the first round.

Chance Wachholtz defeated defending champion Andy Tucknott 11-21, 21-12, 11-10 in a thrilling open final to win his second state title.

Johnson topped Butte City Singles champion Brett Badovinac to win the Masters title.

Other winners were Dave Montelius in the Golden Masters, Dan Scilley in the Super Golden Masters, Larry White in the Diamond Masters and Devin Khourey in the B. Division.

The tournament was dedicated to Butte handball legend Bill Peoples, a 15-time state champion who passed away last fall. A ceremony was held Saturday before the semifinal matches to honor Peoples as one of Montana’s all-time greats and an excellent ambassador for the sport.

Tournament results follow:

First Round – Cole Salo, Butte d. Joe Urbani, Bozeman; Frank Shields, Butte d. Nathan Guza, Missoula; Moe Johnson, Missoula d. Dave Starcevich, Butte; Jared Wierson, Missoula d. Nick White, Bozeman
Quarterfinals – Andy Tucknott, Missoula d. Salo; T.J. Stender, Sheridan, WY d. Shields; Chance Wachholtz, Kalispell d. Johnson; Pete Svennugnsen, Spokane d. Wierson
Semifinals – Tucknott d. Stender; Wachholtz d. Svennungsen
Third – Svennungsend d. Stender, forfeit
Final – Wachholtz d. Tucknott 11-21, 21-12, 11-10

Masters (40+)
Quarterfinals – Randy (Red Death) Jolliffe, Missoula d. Brad Chumura, Missoula; Don Foley, Butte d. Devin Khourey, Missoula; Moe Johnson, Missoula d. Nick White, Bozeman
Semifinals – Brett Badovinac, Butte d. Jolliffe; Johnson d. Foley
Third – Foley d. Jolliffe
Final – Johnson d. Badovinac

Masters Consolation

Semifinals – Khourey d. White
Final – Khourey d. Chumura

Golden Masters (50+)
First Round – Don Schmidt, Missoula d. Mike Starcevich, Powell, WY
Quarterfinals – Schmidt d. Dan Bersanti, Butte; Dave Montelius, Missoula d. Sam Baldridge, Whitefish; Mike Barragan, Lakeside d. Jay Stender, Sheridan, WY; Tom Madrazo, Butte d. Robin Peters, Missoula
Semifinals – Montelius d. Schmidt; Barragan d. Madrazo
Third – Schmidt d. Madrazo
Finals – Montelius d. Barragan, injury default

Golden Consolation
Quarterfinals – Bersanti d. Starcevich
Semifinals – Bersanti d. Baldridge; Peters d. Stender
Finals – Bersanti d. Peters

Super Golden Masters (60+)
First Round – Steve Birrell, Bozeman d. Phil Kulbeck
Quarterfinals – Dan Scilley, Luther d.Birrell; Mike Meyer, Billings d. Frank Cikan, Bozeman; Rock Svennungsen, Shelby d. Dick Fox, Billings; John Larsen, Helena d. Roger Lewis, Missoula
Semifinals – Scilley d. Meyer, Larsen d. Svennungsen
Third – Meyer d. Svennungsen
Finals – Scilley d. Larsen

Super Consolation

Semifinals – Kulbeck d. Cikan; Fox d. Lewis
Final – Fox d. Kulbeck

Diamond Masters (70+)
Quarterfinals – Dan Ferriter, Missoula d. Jay Jewett, Great Falls; Larry White, Missoula d. Bob Gensemer, Stevensville
Semifinals – Ferriter d. Wally Page, Florence; White d. Paul Polzin, Missoula
Third – Polzin d. Page
Final – White d. Ferriter

Diamond Consolation

Quarterfinals – Jewett d. Page
Finals – Jewett d. Gensemer

A Division
Quarterfinals – Cole Salo, Butte d. Dave Starcevich, Butte; Frank Shields, Butte d. Nick White, Bozeman; Moe Johnson, Missoula d. Joe Urbani, Bozeman; Jared Weirson, Missoula d. Nathan Guza, Missoula
Semifinals – Shields d. Salo; Johnson d. Weirson
Final – Shields d. Johnson

B Division
Quarterfinals – Brandon Penrose, Sheridan, WY d. Eric Schmidt, Missoula; Chris Riley, Missoula d. Sean Shields, Butte; Devin Khourey, Missoula d. Ellie Fitzpatrick, Missoula
Semifinals – Penrose d. Marcus Madrazo, Butte; Khourey d. Riley
Finals – Khourey d. Penrose

B Consolation

Semifinals – Madrazo d. Schmidt; Shields d. Fitzpatrick
Finals – Madrazo d. Shields

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email