Ryan, Oredigger golfers receive Frontier honors

Ryan, Oredigger golfers receive Frontier honors
Montana Tech' senior Trey Hoagland, left, talks with head coach Sean Ryan on the No. 3 green during the Montana Tech Invitational Sept. 14, 2020 at the Butte Country Club. (Butte Sports file photo)

WHITEFISH — Montana Tech head golf coach Sean Ryan was named Frontier Conference Men’s Coach of the Year, the league announced today.

The honor came for Ryan as four Orediggers, one woman and three men, were named first-team all-conference. They are Tanna Campbell of Big Timber, Sean Ramsbacher of Missoula and Butte High graduates Trey Hoagland and Isaiah Weldon.

Hoagland and Campbell are seniors, Ramsbacher is a junior and Weldon is a sophomore.

Tech freshmen Brady Cady and Jace Rhodes were selected as second-team all-conference players on the men’s side. Rhodes was also named Freshman of the Year. Weldon took home Tech’s Champions of Character award.

Daniel Sigurjonsson of Rocky Mountain College was named men’s Player of the Year.

Oredigger men’s golf team won all three regular season tournaments last fall on their way to the school’s first regular-season championship.

On the women’s side, Tech Freshmen Skyler Martin and Reyla Williams made the second team. Campbell was named the Orediggers’ Champion of Character.

Rocky’s Claire Wright was named Women’s Player of the Year. Carroll College’s Echo Anderson took home Freshman of the Year honors, and Rocky’s Nathan Bailey was named Women’s Coach of the Year.

The all-conference team is determined by the results of the league’s regular season conference tournaments completed in the fall. The top five golfers receive first team honors and second five receive second team honors.

All the Frontier Conference golf teams will be in Eagle, Idaho near Boise next week for the Frontier Conference Championships. The Banbury Golf Course will host the three-day tournament, the men’s and women’s teams playing 18 holes Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

Click the links below to see all the Frontier Conference honorees.

Men’s team

Women’s team

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email