Rocky wins Bandy trophy

WHITEFISH — Rocky Mountain College is the winner of the 2013 – 2014 Bandy Memorial All-Sports trophy according to Frontier Conference Commissioner Kent Paulson.

For the 2013-14 season, Rocky finished with 114.5 points followed by second place Lewis-Clark State with 88 points. Carroll College, winner of the past four Bandy awards finished third with 85.5 points. Westminster was fourth with 74 points and then the University of Great Falls with 60, Montana- State Northern with 52.5, Montana Tech with 43, Montana Western with 28.5, Dickinson State with 24.5, Southern Oregon with 11 and Eastern Oregon with nine points.

It is Rocky’s sixth Bandy Award and now ties Montana Western for the second most Bandy Awards won. Carroll College leads with 10 Bandy Awards. Montana Tech has four, Lewis-Clark State has three and MSU-Northern has two.

Rocky claimed regular season conference titles in women’s soccer, men’s basketball, and men and women’s golf. Lewis-Clark won titles in men and women’s cross country. Westminster College was the conference champion in women’s basketball. MSU-Northern claimed the volleyball title and Carroll captured the football championship.

The Bandy Award is presented each year to the conference school that has accumulated the most points based on its league finish in football, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, soccer, women’s volleyball and men’s and women’s golf.

The conference champion receives 17 points and the points decrease for each place after first with 12 points for second, 10 points for third, nine points for fourth, eight points for fifth, seven points for sixth, six points for seventh and three points for eighth.

If there is a tie in the regular season standings, the points for the place finishing are added together and divided by the number of teams that tied. An example would be if two teams tied for first they would each receive 14.5 points (17 + 12 divided by 2 = 14.5) while the next place finisher would be awarded the third place points.

The conference features six members in all sports: Carroll College, Dickinson State, Montana State-Northern, Montana Tech, Montana Western and Rocky Mountain. Three schools in all sports except football: Lewis-Clark State, University of Great Falls and Westminster College. Eastern Oregon University and Southern Oregon University are conference members in football only.

The Bandy Award was first presented after the 1982-83 season with Western Montana College (now Montana Western) winning the award.

The all-sports trophy is named in honor of the first commissioner of the Frontier Conference, George Bandy, his wife Cheryl Ann and their 8-year-old son Michael, whom they had adopted two weeks earlier. The family died tragically in a boating accident in the summer of 1982 when their 14-foot sailboat overturned in high winds on Canyon Ferry Reservoir near Helena.

— Frontier Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email