Rocky wins Bandy Award

Rocky wins Bandy Award

WHITEFISH — Rocky Mountain College is the winner of the 2018-2019 Bandy Memorial All-Sports trophy, Frontier Conference Commissioner Kent Paulson announced today.

For the 2018-19 season, Rocky finished with 112 points followed by Lewis-Clark State College with 88 points and Carroll College with 82 points. Montana Western was fourth with 58.75 points followed by the University of Providence with 57.5 points, MSU-Northern with 54.5 points, Montana Tech with 49 points, Southern Oregon with 9.75 points, College of Idaho with 9.75 points and Eastern Oregon with 9.75 points.

It’s Rocky’s seventh Bandy Award. Carroll College leads the league with 14 Bandy Awards. Montana Western has won six. Lewis-Clark State and Montana Tech have four each and MSU-Northern has two.

In the 2018-19 season, Rocky claimed regular season conference titles in football, volleyball, and men and women’s golf. Lewis-Clark State won conference titles in men and women’s cross country, and shared the men’s basketball title with Carroll College.

Montana Western won the women’s basketball regular season championship.

The Bandy Award is presented each year to the conference school that has accumulated the most points based on its regular season league finish in football, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, women’s volleyball, and men’s and women’s golf.

The conference regular season champion receives 17 points and the points decrease for each place after first with 12 points for second, 10 points for third, nine points for fourth, eight points for fifth, seven points for sixth, six points for seventh and three points for eighth.

If there is a tie in the regular season standings, the points for the place finishing are added together and divided by the number of teams that tied. An example would be if two teams tied for first they would each receive 14.5 points (17 + 12 divided by 2 = 14.5) while the next place finisher would be awarded the third place points.

The conference features five members in all sports: Carroll College, Montana State-Northern, Montana Tech, Montana Western and Rocky Mountain. Two schools in all sports except football: Lewis-Clark State and the University of Great Falls. College of Idaho, Eastern Oregon University and Southern Oregon University are conference members in football only.

The Bandy Award was first presented after the 1982-83 season with Western Montana College (now Montana Western) winning the award.

The all-sports trophy is named in honor of the first commissioner of the Frontier Conference, George Bandy, his wife Cheryl Ann and their 8-year-old son Michael, whom they had adopted two weeks earlier. The family died tragically in a boating accident in the summer of 1982 when their 14-foot sailboat overturned in high winds on Canyon Ferry Reservoir near Helena.

— Frontier Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email