Richtman places second at Frontier Championship

Richtman places second at Frontier Championship

Montana Tech women, men are runners up

DILLON — Montana Tech senior Becca Richtman ran to second place at the Frontier Conference Championship Friday at the Beaverhead Golf Course. (Results)

Richtman finished the 5-kilometer event in 18 minutes, 46 seconds. Sydney Little Light of Rocky Mountain College won the race, crossing in 18:07.

Reghan Worley of Carroll College took third in 18:52, and Eireann O’Connor of Montana Western placed fourth in 19:00.

Tech’s Averi Parker placed seventh with a time of 19:26. Carlin Maning (20:07), Lexi Ladoux (20:09) and Hailey Nielson (20:11) placed 12th, 13th and 14th for the Orediggers.

Also scoring points for Tech were Karolyna Buck (21:30) and Madison Kelly (21:48). Richtman was only Tech runner to score who isn’t a freshman.

The Montana Tech women’s and men’s team both placed second in the event. Carroll won the women’s title with 37 points, claiming an automatic berth in the NAIA National Championships.

The Orediggers, who took second with 48, could still receive an at large bid in the meet, which is Nov. 19 in Vancouver, Washington. Top 30 teams are eligible for berths, and the Orediggers are ranked No. 16. The top four individuals on a non-qualifying team also move on, so Richtman is guaranteed a spot on the big stage.

Rocky placed third at 61. The Battlin’ Bears were followed by Western at 74, MSU-Northern with 154 and the University of Providence with 166.

Carroll also won the men’s race with 38 points. Tech took second at 70, followed by Rocky at 75, Western at 81, Northern at 104 and Providence at 168.

Rocky runners Jackson Wilson and Jackson Duffey placed 1-2 in the men’s race. Wilson won the 8-kilometer race with a time of 26:02. Duffey followed in 26:32.

Luke Lutz of Western placed third at 26:59.

Connor Aikins placed ninth to lead Montana Tech. He finished with a time of 27:57. River Sheppard took 12th in 27:37, Justin Morgan placed 13th in 27:37, and Trystan Brewer took 15th in 27:44.

Ian Barville (28:13), Jon Hansen (28:31) and Corbin Johnson (28:46) also scored for the Orediggers. All of Tech’s men runners are freshmen.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email