Orediggers, Bulldogs named to Academic All-Conference team

Montana Tech placed 11 volleyball players on the 2014 Academic All-Conference team. Montana Western saw eight Bulldogs make the Frontier Conference team, which was released by the league last night.

The list of Oredigger players includes Butte sophomores Mariah Cooney and Danika Neumann and Anaconda senior Korey Krumm.

Other Orediggers earning the academic honors were Makenzie Bauck, Jordan Danz, Haley Druyvestein, Samantha Hutcheson, Kimmy Kavran, Sydney Norris, Annie Smoot and Katie Tabaracci.

Making the team from Western were Emily Erickson, Jami Flink, Breanne Kelley, Paige Latimer, Madison Mansch, Kendra Mendicino, Brea Thomas-Mitchell and Mikayla Ness.

To be eligible for the team, the student-athlete must be at least a sophomore in standing, maintain a .0 GPA and be enrolled at the school the previous two semesters.

“I’m extremely proud of how hard this group of girls works both on the court and in the classroom,” Western head coach Lisa Griffiths said in a statement. “The upperclassmen definitely set the standard for what it means to be a student-athlete at Montana Western and the younger group is working hard every day to reach that standard. I’m glad they are not only preparing for the season, but also for life after volleyball.”

Click the link below to see the honorees from all the Frontier Conference schools.

2014 Academic All-Conference Volleyball