Nicole Hunt wins masters title at Montana Cup

BOZEMAN — Nicole Hunt added to her long running résumé Saturday.

The Anaconda runner ran for the Butte team and won 40-plus the masters division title of the Montana Cup. Hunt, 46, finished the 5.6-kilometer race in 20 minutes, 42.54 seconds to win the division by more than a minute over second-place Kama Werner of Bozeman.

Butte’s Amber Wood-Jensen, 40, placed third in the masters division in 23:34.

Hunt also placed second overall. Kalispell runner Cynthia Arnold, 32, won with a time of 19:59.38.

Kalispell claimed the team title. Butte placed fifth out of six teams.

Kelsie Zitzer, Lisa Choquette, Mandy Axelson, Kelsie Larson, Dawn Harvey, Kristin Norderud, Michele Bazzanella, Betty Iverson and Kara Howard also competed for the Butte team.

Wyatt Theard, a 13-year-old runner from Anaconda, posted the fastest time for the Butte team. He finished in 20:48.89 to place 27th overall.

Bozeman won the team title, while Butte, which had the least amount of runners, placed seventh.

Jeff Braun, Don Foley, Ray Hunt, Marvin Speece, Austin Bockting, Justin Whaley, Bradley Harvey and Matt Rachor also ran for the Butte team.