Montana Tech’s Richtman wins Montana Open

MISSOULA — Even a step up in competition could not slow down Becca Richtman.

The Montana Tech runner picked up another victory Friday, this time at the University of Montana hosted Montana Open. (Results)

Richtman won the 5-kilometer race in 16 minutes, 49 seconds. Carroll College’s Reghan Worley took second in 17:13, and unattached runner Beatrix Frissell took third in 17:24. Grace Gilbreth of Montana State took fourth in 17:35.

Montana State won the team title with 41 points. The Orediggers took second at 72, finishing just ahead of Carroll (86) and Montana (99).

Tech freshman Hailey Nielsen also had a big day. The Butte High graduate placed 11th overall with a time of 17:55. Tech’s Averi Parker took 14th in 17:59.

Lexi Ladoux (18:50), Carlin Manning (19:15), Abby Hoffman (19:28) and Karolyna Buck (19:56) scored points for the Orediggers. Alisa Hashley (21:13) and Payton Huss (22:48) also ran for Tech.

Cooper West of Montana State won the men’s title, finishing the 8-kilometer course in 20:44.  He beat Rocky Mountain College’s Jackson Wilson by four seconds. Owen Smith of Montana State took third in 20:50.

The Grizzlies ran to the team title with 30 points. Carroll was second at 76, followed by MSU-Billings at 77, Rocky at 103, Montana Tech at 115 and MSU-Northern at 118.

Tech’s River Shepard placed 14th to lead the Orediggers. His time was 21:55. Justin Morgan (22:37), Connor Aikins (22:44), Corbin Johnson (23:13), Trystan Brewer (23:32), Jon Hansen (24:01) and Ethan Nelson (25:16) scored for tech. Brendan Hessel (25:27) also ran for the Orediggers.

The Orediggers will now get back to training before returning to action Oct. 17 at the Warrior Invitational in Lewiston, Idaho.