McKenzie, McDonald, Goudreau honored

WACO, Texas Just three players from the Frontier Conference were named to the 2012 AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-American team, which was announced today by the American Football Coaches Association.

Senior receiver Cole McKenzie of Southern Oregon, Eastern Oregon linebacker  Howard McDonald and senior offensive lineman Connor Goudreau of Carroll College were named to the team that is selected by the coaches around the country.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions.

2012 AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

WR Chris Gohman 6-3 215 Sr. Georgetown (Ky.) Bill Cronin Elizabethtown, Ky. (Elizabethtown)

WR Jesse Vaughn 5-10 184 Jr. Evangel Brenton Illum Houston, Texas (George Bush)

WR Cole McKenzie 6-2 190 Sr. Southern Oregon Craig Howard Red Bluff, Calif. (Red Bluff)

OL  Jon-Michael Bergeron 6-3 285 Sr. Tabor Mike Gardner Houston, Texas (Reagan)

OL  Connor Goudreau 6-5 290 Sr. Carroll (Mont.) Mike Van Diest Campbell, Calif. (Bellermine Prep)

OL  Ryan Wood 6-2 291 Sr. Cumberland (Tenn.) Dewayne Alexander Kennesaw Mountain, Ga. (Kennesaw Mountain)

OL  Dillon Carmichael 6-5 318 Jr. Doane Matt Franzen Loomis, Neb. (Loomis)

OL Doug Spacht 6-4 260 Sr. St. Francis (Ill.) Joe Curry Long Beach, Calif. (Poly)

QB  Jimmy Coy 6-0 210 Sr. Saint Xavier Mike Feminis Park Ridge, Ill. (Maine South)

RB  Terrance Cobb 5-11 220 Jr. Cumberlands (Ky.) John Bland Knoxville, Tenn. (Fulton)

RB Tevin Lake 5-8 195 So.  Marian Ted Karras, Jr. South Bend, Ind. (Adams)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

DL  Jordan Carlson* 6-4 290 Sr. Northwestern (Iowa) Kyle Achterhoff Storm Lake, Iowa (Storm Lake)

DL  Jon Higgins 6-1 230 Sr. Grand View Mike Woodley Council Bluffs, Iowa (Lewis Central)

DL Dexter Davis* 6-3 230 Sr. Friends Monty Lewis Rex, Ga. (Morrow)

DL  Andre Jolly 6-1 245 So. Baker Mike Grossner Gardner, Kan. (Gardner-Edgerton)

LB  Howard McDonald 5-9 217 Sr. Eastern Oregon Tim Camp Silverdale, Wash. (Central Kitsap)

LB  Brett Kaczor 5-11 210 Sr. Nebraska Wesleyan Brian Keller Ewing, Neb. (Ewing)

LB Jeremy Wallace 6-1 215 Jr. St. Ambrose Mike Magistrelli New Lennox, Ill. (Lincoln-Way Central)

DB  Donald Anderson 5-9 160 Sr. Ottawa Kent Kessinger Wichita, Kan. (Southeast)

DB  Jared Goforth 6-0 195 Sr. Morningside Steve Ryan Polk City, Iowa. (Ankeny)

DB  Tyler Davis 5-11 176 Jr. Missouri Valley Paul Troth St. Louis, Mo. (University City)

DB  Taylor Brown 5-11 192 So. Saint Francis (Ind.) Kevin Donley Chesterton, Ind. (Chesterton)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

P  Derek Carlson 6-4 215 Sr. Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Ross Cimpl Sioux Falls, S.D. (Lincoln)

PK  Kenny Zoeller 6-0 180 Sr. Concordia (Neb.) Vance Winter Spring, Texas (Concordia Lutheran)

AP  Sean Ransburg 6-0 195 Sr. MidAmerica Nazarene Jonathan Quinn Harrisonville, Mo. (Harrisonville)

*-2011 AFCA All-American

Team Background: The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — FBS and FCS. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

Selection Process: The AFCA’s NAIA All-America Selection Committee is made up of three head coaches from each of the AFCA’s nine districts, one of whom serves as a district chairman, along with another head coach who serves as the chairman of the selection committee. The coaches in each district are responsible for ranking the top players in their respective districts prior to a conference call between the district chairmen and the committee chairman on which the team is chosen.

AFCA NAIA Player Selection History: NAIA players who were selected to AFCA All-America teams were named to the AFCA College Division team from 1967-71. In 1972, the AFCA College Division was split to College I and College II.  Players from NAIA Division I teams were placed in AFCA College I, while players from NAIA Division II were placed in AFCA College II.  That process lasted until 1996, when College I and College II were renamed Division II and Division III.  From 1996-2005, all NAIA players who were selected as Coaches’ All-Americans were placed on the AFCA Division II team. In 2006, the AFCA started selecting an NAIA-only team.

Top Teams: Georgetown (Ky.) has been represented a total of 17 times by 14 players on AFCA Coaches’ All-America Teams to lead all schools in NAIA. Trailing Georgetown (Ky.) are: Carroll (Mont.) (16/15), Morningside (8/8), Saint Xavier (7/7), Baker (6/6), Southern Oregon (6/6), Missouri Valley (6/5), Montana Tech (6/5), Northwestern (Iowa) (6/5), Saint Francis (Ind.) (6/5), St. Ambrose (5/5), Bethel (Tenn.) (5/4), MidAmerica Nazarene (5/4), Dakota Welseyan (4/4), Grand View (4/4), Jamestown (4/4), Benedictine (Kan.) (4/3), Ottawa (4/3) and St. Francis (Ill.) (4/3).

First Time School: Placekicker Kenny Zoeller of Concordia (Neb.) and Jon-Michael Bergeron of Tabor have earned All-America honors for their schools, for the first time, in 2012.

Consecutive Years: Carroll (Mont.) has had at least one player named to the AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team for eightstraight seasons, from 2005 to present, the longest streak by any team in NAIA. Following Carroll (Mont.) are Morningside and Saint Xavier with seven straight selections (2006-present).

Repeat After Me: Jordan Carlson of Northwestern (Iowa) and Dexter Davis of Friends earned AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America honors for the second consecutive season in 2012.

Georgetown (Ky.) has had the most repeat selections with three players (Clay Hamblen, DB, 2006-07; Chris Reed, OL, 1987-88; and Chris Hogan, DL, 1991-92).

Texas A&M-Kingsville’s Johnny Bailey is the only player to earn Coaches’ All-America honors in four consecutive years at any level. Bailey was a four-year pick at running back in 1986-87-88-89 in Division II.

In the Family: Donald Anderson of Ottawa follows his brother Clarence Anderson as an AFCA NAIA All-American. Clarence was selected as an All-American in 2011 at wide receiver, and in 2010 as the all-purpose player.

Class Distinction: This year’s AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team is made up of 17 seniors, five juniors and three sophomores.

Two Players, Two Schools: Punter Mark Bounds and placekicker Greg Zuerlein are the only players to earn Coaches’ All-America honors at two different schools. Bounds was named to the AFCA College Division I team in 1990 while playing for West Texas A&M. He transferred to Texas Tech after West Texas dropped football and earned I-A All-America honors as a Red Raider in 1991. Zuerlein was named to the Division II Coaches’ All-America Team in 2009 while playing for Nebraska-Omaha. He transferred to Missouri Western State after Nebraska-Omaha dropped its football program and earned Division II honors in 2011 as a Griffon.

— Information provided by the AFCA



Recommended for you