Manuel, Johnston named MVPs of State AA tourney

Kendal Manuel of Billings Skyview and McKenzie Johnston of Helena Capital were named MVPs of the Class AA combined State tournament, which was held last week at the Butte Civic Center.

The all-tournament teams, which were voted on by media members who covered the event, were announced today.

Billings Skyview teammate RayQuan Evans jointed Manuel on the all-tournament team after the Falcons claimed the state championship.

Also making the boys’ team were Tres Tinkle and Rhett Baerocher of Missoula Hellgate; Brendan Howard, Matt Wyman and Montana Tech signee Lukas Vining of Great Falls High; Trevor Spoja and Danny Betcher of Billings West; and Aaron Weidnaar of Bozeman.

Johnson was one of three members of the state champion Helena Capital team to make the girls’ all-tournament squad. She was joined by teammates Tjaden Pallister and Savanna Bignell.

Other members of the girls’ all-tournament team are Caitlin Lonergan and Averi Collins of Bozeman; Shannon Worster of Missoula Sentinol; Hailee Bennett of Kalispell Glacier; Taylor Mims of Billings Senior; Taylor Edwards of Great Falls Russell and Maddy Shaide of Missoula Big Sky.

In all, 16 boys and 21 girls received votes for all-tournament recognition. Click the link below to see the breakdown of the voting, which was conducted by Lowell Peterson.

2014-15 AA State Tournament Team