Kavran, Solomon, Cline, Krumm honored

Montana Tech libero Kimmy Kavran and head volleyball coach Brian Solomon received some pretty big honors Thursday night.

Kavran, a true freshman from Missoula Sentinel, was named the Frontier Conference Libero of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Solomon was named Frontier Conference Coach of the Year after leading the Orediggers to a 18-10 overall record (8-8 in conference) in his first year at Tech.

The awards were handed out after the first match of the Frontier Conference tournament at the HPER Complex at Montana Tech.

University of Great Falls outside hitter Kelsey VanUden was named the Player of the Year, while Lewis-Clark State outside hitter Niurka Torbio took home Newcomer of the Year honors.

Montana Tech outside hitter Shersteen Cline, a senior from Big Sandy, and Oredigger middle blocker Korey Krumm, a sophomore from Anaconda, earned a spot along with Kavran on the All-Frontier Conference First Team.

Kavran, who set the Tech single-season record for digs, was also named to the All-Freshman team along with Montana Western’s Brea Mitchell.

All-Frontier Conference
First Team

Ellie Graff, Carroll College, Jr, MB; Bozeman, Mont.
Kathleen Mulligan, Carroll College, So, OH; Des Moines, Wash
Treneisha Doyle, Lewis-Clark State, Fr., OH; Vancouver, Wash.
Niurka Toribio, Lewis-Clark State, Jr, OH; Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Hillary Islefson, Montana State-Northern, Sr, OH; Carlyle, Saskatchewan
Abby Nicholas, Montana State-Northern, Jr, MB/RSH; Sandy, Utah
Shersteen Cline, Montana Tech, Sr, OH; Big Sandy, Mont.
Kimmy Kavran, Montana Tech, Fr, L; Missoula, Mont.
Korey Krumm, Montana Tech, So, MB; Anaconda, Mont.
Anna Dewald, Rocky Mountain College, So, MB; Windsor, Colo.
Kelsey VanUden, University of Great Falls, OH; Thousand Oaks, Calif.
Ashley Marchant, Westminster College, Sr, OH; Sandy, Utah

Second Team
Brianne Brown, Lewis-Clark State College, Sr, RS; Spokane, Wash.
Holly Cartwright, Montana State-Northern, Jr, L; Havre, Mont.
Jamie Elenbaas, Rocky Mountain College, Sr, L; Billings, Mont.
Esther Timofeyev, Rocky Mountain College, Sr, MB; Moses Lake, Wash.
Alyssa McEwan, University of Great Falls, So, MB; Bountiful, Utah
Emily Atkinson, Westminster College, Jr, S; Salt Lake City, Utah

All-Freshman Team
Rebecca Sweeny, Carroll College, Fr, OH; Des Moines, Wash.
Treneisha Doyle, Lewis-Clark State, Fr, OH; Vancouver, Wash.
Keisha Kennedy, Lewis-Clark State, Fr, MB; Vancouver, Wash.
Kimmy Kavran, Montana Tech, Fr, L; Missoula, Mont.
Brea Mitchell, Montana Western, Fr, MB; Pocatello, Idaho
Ahlea Billis, Rocky Mountain College, Fr, MB; Bozeman, Mont.