Joyce, Omlid named MVPs of Southwestern A tourney

Joyce, Omlid named MVPs of Southwestern A tourney
Butte Central senior Tricia Joyce is surrounded by teammates after she accepted the first-place trophy at the Southwestern A District tournament Saturday at the Maroon Activities Center. (Bill Foley photo)

Butte Central’s Tricia Joyce and Hamilton’s Hunter Omlid were voted MVPs of the Southwestern A District basketball tournaments.

The tournaments concluded Saturday at the Maroon Activities Center with the Butte Central girls and Hamilton boys capturing the championships.

Media members and tournament officials voted on the All-Tournament teams, and the two seniors were each picked MVP on all but one ballot. The vote was conducted by Butte Sports.

Joyce, a 5-foot-2 guard, scored 14 points to lead the Maroons to a 43-40 victory over Hamilton in Saturday’s championship game. The night before, she scored six points to go along with seven steals, four assists and two rebounds in BC’s 58-47 come-from-behind semifinal win over Dillon.

Joyce is joined on the All-Tournament team by teammates Emma Keeley, a junior, and Sofee Thatcher, a freshman.

Hamilton’s Mariola Tesoro and Lauren Ryter and Dillon’s Josey Jones also claimed a spot on the All-Tournament team.

Central senior Bella Sorini received an honorable mention along with Lainie Albright of Corvallis, Abby Johnson and Jordan Taggart of Hamilton and Claire Bagnell of Frenchtown.

Hunter Omlid of Hamilton boxes out Butte Centrals Gator Yelenich during a free throw attempt Saturday night at the Maroon Activities Center. (Bill Foley photo)

The 6-2 Omlid scored 24 points and pulled down six rebounds in Hamilton’s 54-52 win over Butte Central in the title game. He scored 19 points and grabbed 11 boards in Friday’s 69-64 semifinal win over Frenchtown.

Butte Central senior Cade Holter and BC junior Braden Harrington earned a spot on the All-Tournament team along with Omild, Hamilton’s Tanner Goligoski, Dillon’s Michael Haverfield and Frenchtown’s Cade Baker.

Central juniors Matt Simkins and Gator Yelenich received an honorable mention, as did Dylan Cervelli of Dillon and Trey Searle of Hamilton,

First Team

(MVP) Tricia Joyce, senior, Butte Central
Mariola Tesoro, sophomore, Hamilton
Emma Keeley, junior, Butte Central
Josey Jones, junior, Dillon
Sofee Thatcher, freshman, Butte Central
Lauren Ryter, senior, Hamilton

Honorable mention
Lainie Albright, senior, Corvallis
Abby Johnson, junior, Hamilton
Claire Bagnell, junior, Frenchtown
Jordan Taggart, senior, Hamilton
Bella Sorini, senior, Butte Central

First Team

(MVP) Hunter Omlid, senior, Hamilton
Cade Holter, senior, Butte Central
Michael Haverfield, senior, Dillon
Cade Baker, junior, Frenchtown
Tanner Goligoski, senior, Hamilton
Braden Harrington, junior, Butte Central

Honorable mention
Matt Simkins, junior, Butte Central
Gator Yelenich, junior, Butte Central
Dylan Cervelli, senior, Dillon,
Trey Searle, junior, Hamilton

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email