Joyce named Co-MVP, Harrington, Holter All-State

Joyce named Co-MVP, Harrington, Holter All-State
Butte Central's Tricia Joyce puts on the full court press as Dillon's Jordyn McKay looks to pass Jan. 4 at the Maroon Activities Center. (Butte Sports file photo)

The Southwestern A All-Conference and All-State list for the 2018-19 basketball season was released today, and Tricia Joyce, Braden Harrington and Cade Holter of Butte Central were named All-State.

The three Maroons also take home first-team all-conference honors.

Joyce, who won the Class A State golf title in the fall, was named Co-MVP of the Southwestern A. She shares the award with fellow senior Calla Haldorson of Corvallis.

The honor comes after Joyce averaged 12.0 points per game in the regular season. She was named MVP of the Southwestern A District tournament in Butte, leading the Maroons to the title. A week later, Joyce helped send the Maroons to the state tournament with a fourth-place finish at the Western A Divisional in Hamilton.

Hamilton senior Lauren Ryter joins Haldorson and Joyce as All-State representatives from the Southwestern A.

Holter, a senior, and Harrington, a junior, receive the honor after helping lead the Maroons to third place at the Class A State tournament in Great Falls. BC went 22-5 on the season. That’s the most wins for Butte Central’s boys in a season since the 1978 Maroons went 22-4 and won the state title.

Harrington averaged a team-leading 12.3 points per game for the Western A champion Maroons. He also averaged 3.6 rebounds per game in the regular season. Holter added 11.7 points and 3.8 rebounds per game.

Holter was also a defensive force charged with stopping the opponent’s top player each night.

Michael Haverfield of Dillon took home the boys’ Southwestern A MVP honor. Hamilton seniors Tanner Goligoski and Hunter Omlid join Harrington and Holter as All-State selections.

In all, seven BC players took home post-season honors. Senior Dylan Sestrich and junior Luke Heaphy received an all-conference honorable mention on the boys’ side.

Junior Emma Keeley received second-team all-conference accolades on the girls’ side. Freshman Sofee Thatcher received an honorable mention.

Click here to see all the Southwestern A honorees.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email