Jason Ferris takes home Frontier honor again

Jason Ferris takes home Frontier honor again
Jason Ferris (33) runs onto the field with teammates, from left, Kyrin Allen, Riley Martello, Cody Connolly, Connor Schulte and Kyle Schulte before Montana Western’s Oct. 6 game against Montana Tech in Dillon. (Bill Foley photo)

WHITEFISH — Montana Western linebacker Jason Ferris was named the Frontier Conference Defensive Player of the Week for the second time this season.

Ferris received the honor Monday, but it wasn’t released to the media until this morning.

Ferris is a 6-foot-3, 215-pound junior from Dillon. In then-No. 19 Montana Western’s 30-10 home conference win over Carroll College, Ferris recorded five solo tackles, two tackles for loss (-8), 10 assisted tackles, one quarterback sack, three pass break-ups and an interception.

That helped the Bulldogs complete their first season sweep of Carroll in over 20 years.

Carter Myers of Montana Tech was also nominated along with Isiah Cranford of Eastern Oregon, McBride Galt of Carroll College, Kendell Jefferson of Rocky Mountain College and Forest Rivers of College of Idaho.

Offensive Player of the Week: Darius-James Peterson of College of Idaho
Peterson is a 5-foot-11, 190-pound senior quarterback from Novato, California. In College of Idaho’s 23-20 road conference upset overtime win over then-No. 25 Montana Tech, Peterson was 12 of 24 for 233 yards and two touchdowns.

He rushed for 36 yards and one touchdown on 20 carries. His rushing touchdown was the game winning score in overtime.

Dion Williams of Montana Tech, Jon Jund of Montana Western, Jacob Bakken of Rocky Mountain College, Kai Quinn of Eastern Oregon and Tommy Wilson of MSU-Northern were also nominated.

Special Teams Player of the Week: Nathan Harden of Eastern Oregon
Harden is a 6-foot, 185-pound senior kicker from Graham, Washington. In No. 24 Eastern Oregon’s 27-17 road conference upset win over No. 7 Southern Oregon, he was 3 of 3 P.A.T.’s and 2 of 2 in field goals.

Five of his punts pinned Southern inside their own 20-yard line.

Tyler Padilla of Montana Tech, Mark Kharchenko of Montana Western, Dillon Johnson of Rocky Mountain College, Nik Lyons of College of Idaho and Collin Sassano of Carroll College were also nominated.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email