Jamar named Lou Henson All-American

BOSTON — The University of Montana’s Kareem Jamar has been named to the 2013-14 Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America team, the second consecutive season he has been so-honored, announced CollegeInsider.com recently.

This past season Jamar was one of only four players in Division 1 to average more than 18 points, 5 rebounds, and 4 assists a game.  He was ranked fourth in the Big Sky in scoring (18.8 ppg), assists (4.0 apg), and assist/turnover ratio (1.8), and 10th in rebounding (5.6 rpg).

Jamar, a 6-foot-5 senior guard/forward from Venice, Calif., was a unanimous first team All-Big Sky Conference selection this season.  He has been named to the first team the last three years in a row, and has been named to Lou Henson’s Mid-Major All-America team and All-District 6 the last two straight seasons.

One of the most versatile players to ever play for the Grizzlies, Jamar ended his illustrious career ranked fourth in school history in scoring and assists, with 1,673 and 407, respectively.  His career totals rank him 13th in Big Sky history in points and 19th in assists.  His 664 career rebounds are the 12th most in school history.  He scored in double figures in 91 of the 121 career games that he played in.

All of the 30 players named to the team are also finalists for The Lou Henson Award, which is  presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years.

Previous recipients of the award include Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary’s 2013), Kyle O’Quinn (Norfolk State 2012), Matt Howard (Butler 2011), and Keith Benson (Oakland 2010).

When he left the game in 2005, Henson was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

he winner of the 2014 Henson award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, the site of the Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

— Montana Sports Information


Ike Azotam6-7Sr. 




Travis Bader6-5Sr. 


George Beamon6-4Sr. 


Taylor Braun6-7Sr. 

North Dakota State

Alec Brown7-1Sr. 

Green Bay

David Brown6-3Sr. 

Western Michigan

Julius Brown5-10Jr. 



Glenn Cosey6-0Sr. 

Eastern Kentucky

Torrey Craig6-6Sr. 

USC Upstate

Langston Hall6-4Sr. 


Tyler Haws6-5Jr. 


Troy Huff6-5Sr. 

North Dakota

R.J. Hunter6-5So. 

Georgia State

Jeremy Ingram6-3Sr. 

North Carolina Central

Kareem Jamar6-5Sr. 


J.J. Mann6-6Sr. 


Z. Mason6-6Sr. 


Javon McCrea6-7Sr. 


Aaric Murray6-0Sr. 

Texas Southern

Jake Odum6-4Sr. 

Indiana State

Jacob Parker6-6Jr. 

Stephen F. Austin

Elfrid Payton6-3Jr. 

Louisiana Lafayette

Devon Saddler6-2Sr. 


Wesley Saunders6-5Jr. 


Justin Sears6-8So. 


Kiefer Sykes5-11Jr. 

Green Bay

Jameel Warney6-8So. 

Stony Brook

Jalan West5-10So. 

Northwestern State

Alan Williams6-8Jr. 

UC Santa Barbara

Pendarvis Williams6-6Sr. 


Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email