Hansen, Kobold are Tech MVPs

Pat Hansen and Nate Kobold were the top Orediggers of the 2012 season.

Hansen, a junior running back, and Kobold, a safety whose career ended after the last season, were named the offensive and defensive MVPs of the 2012 team at a ceremony Friday night at the Knights of Columbus in Butte.

Hansen was named the overall team MVP in a ceremony that saw the Orediggers receive their Frontier Conference championship rings.

Former University of Montana and Utah State head coach Mick Dennehy spoke at the event.

Kobold also took home the Most Inspirational Award, the Rock Award and the Ed Simonich Coaches Award.

Punter Travis Farewell was named the Montana Tech special teams MVP.

Senior defensive back Joe Mitzell was awarded the Walker Champions of Character Award, Jake Workman was given the Big Man Award, Keith Mullan took home the Montana National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award, and Ryan Jones and Alex Havlovick were named Offseason Digger Champs.

The Orediggers also honored their All-Conference, Academic All-Conference and NAIA Scholar-Athletes at the ceremony.

Complete team awards follow:

NAIA Scholar-Athletes (3.5+ GPA, Jr. Standing)
Rob Corson, petroleum engineering; Joe Mitzel, environmental engineering; Tyson Shriver, petroleum engineering; Brian Schwarzkoph, applied health

Academic All-Conference
Austin Brinkworth, Ben Cook, Rob Corson, Tyler Denny, Blake Ereaux, Travis Farewell, Mack Ferko, Sam Hall, Pat Hansen, Nate Hofland, Nathan Kobold, Augie Lorenzen, Braxton Lucero, David Meis, Joe Mitzel, Keith Mullan, Tommy Peterson, Trevor Price, Taylor Rowe, Brian Schwarzkoph, Tyson Shriver, Nate Thompson, Mike Touzinsky, Abe Ward

First-Team All-Conference
Pat Hansen, Keith Mullan, Mike Waldman, Joe Semansky, Ketwaun Frank, Nathan Kobold, Travis Farewell

Second-Team All-Conference
Trent Thomas, David Tapia-Padron, Jacob Workman, Mike Touzinsky

Walker Champions of Character Award
Joe Mitzel

Montana National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete
Keith Mullan

Team MVP
Pat Hansen

Offensive MVP
Pat Hansen

Defensive MVP
Nate Kobold

Special Teams MVP
Travis Farewell

Most Inspirational
Nate Kobold

Rock Award
Nate Kobold

Big Man Award
Jake Workman

Ed Simonich Coaches Award
Nate Kobold

Offseason Digger Champs
Offense: Alex Havlovick
Defense: Ryan Jones