Hall of Fame nominations due by end of year

The nomination deadline for the Butte Sport Hall of Fame Class of 2022 is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 31.

Athletes must be nominated to be considered for the Butte Sports Hall of Fame, and only those nominated before the deadline will be considered. No exceptions will be made.

Those nominated the last several selection processes do not need to be re-nominated (see below). Re-nominations, though, can be made for the purpose of providing more information on a nominee.

Candidates who are 15 years or more removed from high school and are finished competing at their highest level of their sport are eligible for selection into the Hall. Categories are also available for head coaches, old timers (50 plus years) and contributors.

A public forum will be held at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2022 at the McQueen Club. The forum will allow people to make a presentation on behalf of nominees in front of the selection committee. All presentations will be strictly limited to 3 minutes.

The 2022 inductees will be named in February, and the Green Jacket and Induction ceremonies will be held July 15 and 16 at the Butte Civic Center.

Nominations can be made online (click here) or by contacting Butte Sports Hall of Fame Executive Director Bill Foley at 491-3022 or foley@buttesports.com.

The following candidates are still nominated from the previous in duction and do not need to be renominated. The list does not include those nominated over the past two months.

Tony Banovich, Terry Barkell, Tom Berg, Matt Buckley, Brian Bolton, Corey Bolton, Bernie Brophie, Mike Carle, Barbara Cockhill, Don Douglas, Deanna Dugdale, Michelle Durkin, Neil Egan, Jay Fagan, Scott Ferguson, Jim George, John Gibson, Jamie Harris, James “J.W.” Hodges, Jim Hope, Pete Hristou, Ray Jay Johnson, Rob Johnson, Lori (Bruin) Jurenic, Susan Kaluza, Gary Kane, Kelley Kingston, Henry Klobucar, John Kovacich, Jake Larson, Julie Leary, Chad Lembke;

Jay LeProwse, Paul LeProwse, Fawn Lyons, Linda Lyons-Paull, Lori Markovich, Tom McIntyre, Marc Murphy, Rick Nadeau, Wanda (Matteson) Olson, John O’Neill, Todd Paffhausen, Kevin Parvinen, Matt Pelletier, Charlie Peterson, Mark Peterson, Pat Prendergast, Chris Rasmussen, Tom Reopelle, John Ries, Ted Richards, John Rickman, Tom Roberts, Leroy “Pepper” Romero, Greg Salo, Kelvin Sampson, Steve Schulte, Debbie Silk, Curtis Smith, Kyle Smith;

Jon Smitham, Rob Spear, Steve Stanisich, Dennis “Butch” Starin, Mark Struznik, John Sullivan, Melissa (Ritter) Swanson, Bryl Thompson, Mike Thompson, Si Timberman, Craig Tippett, Chris Cuchine Vidrich, Jay Vogelsang, Sean Walsh, Leena Worrell, Ernie Wilson, Mary Yakawich and Ed Yeo.



Recommended for you