Frontier schools receive NAIA Champion of Character honors

Frontier schools receive NAIA Champion of Character honors

WHITEFISH — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletes (NAIA) released its 2016-17 Champions of Character award winners, and five Frontier Conference institutions were named to the elite honor roll.

The Frontier Conference received the NAIA Five Star Conference Champions of Character Award. The league made that announcement this morning.

Montana Tech, Montana Western and Carroll College were recipients of the Gold Award, the University of Providence received the Silver Award and Rocky Mountain College received the Bronze Award.

“The Frontier Conference once again being named as an NAIA ‘Champions of Character’ Five-Star conference is indeed a credit to the great leadership at each of our league’s institutions of higher learning,” Frontier Conference commissioner Kent Paulson said. “The presidents, chancellors, professors, athletic directors, coaches, staffs and our student-athletes are all to be congratulated for attaining the biggest prize of all, academic excellence.”

Champions of Character provides training for student-athletes and professional development for coaches and staff. The values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership are put into play and accounted for at NAIA schools.

Each year, NAIA schools use the Champions of Character scorecard to measure the pursuit of character-driven athletics. Schools scoring a minimum of 60 out of 100 points earn the Five-Star Institution Award. Based on points, there are three distinction levels including gold (90-100 points), silver (75-89 points), and bronze (60-74 points).

A total of 14 schools earned top honors with 100 points including; Frontier Conference adjunct member Eastern Oregon University.

New to the Champions of Character Scorecard this year was the opportunity use a teachable moment to offset an ejection for fighting, profanity, or dissent. More than 50 institutions took advantage of this opportunity.

The 2017-18 Champions of Character Scorecard is due on June 15, 2018.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email