Friday’s Hot Ticket

Women’s College Basketball
MSU-Northern at Montana Tech, 5:30 p.m.

Third place in the Frontier Conference is on the line when the Skylights (14-8) come to town to face the Orediggers (13-9). Both teams are 6-4 in conference play, looking up at Westminster College and Carroll College. Northern beat Tech 54-41 Jan. 18 in Havre. Kelsey DeWit, who averages 13.3 points and 7.8 rebounds per game, scored 18 points and grabbed 10 boards in that loss.  Mandy Machinal averages just under 16 points to lead the Orediggers. Laini Kalumbi adds 11.7 points per game. Nikki Tresch averages 14.6 points per game to lead the Skylights, winners of three straight. Jordan Bruursema adds 11.5 points and 6.5 boards. Tech plays Lewis-Clark State at home on Saturday.

Men’s College Basketball
MSU-Northern at Montana Tech, 7:30 p.m.

The Orediggers (5-5, 14-10) fought their way back into the Frontier Conference playoff race by winning three straight. They need to keep that streak going if they want to stay there. MSU-Northern (19-5) and Lewis-Clark State (22-3) come to town this weekend. Both are tied for first place with Westminster College at 7-3. First up is the Lights, who beat Tech 82-68 Jan. 18 in Havre. Jesse Vaughn and Alfie Miller scored 19 points to lead five Lights in double figures in that win. Adam Greger averages 19 points per game to lead the Orediggers. Bryan Bock, the reigning NAIA Player of the Week, is coming off Saturday’s 40-point game at Dickinson State.

Prep Swimming
Butte High at State meet in Hardin, 11 a.m.

The two-day meet kicks off with qualifying races. Butte High enters the meet after a strong season that saw the Bulldogs near the top at nearly every meet they competed at, boys and girls. Butte High team members are seniors Adria Bentley, Blaine Berrington, Ali Dean, Kayla Sessions, Rudy Telling, Abigail Wheeler; juniors Aidan Antmann, Airika Bentley, Afton Ferry, Chad Hicks, Caleb Reichhardt, Jack Walker, Tabitha Zundel; sophomores Haley Hildreth, Carlee Johnson, Sophie Luetkens, Levin Mullaney, Christian Sorenson, Gavin Sison, Keegan Whelan; and freshmen Jake Bentley, Carlie Dinius, Caramia Kohler, Jacob Wheeler.