Faupel, Thatcher, Dembek named All-Conference

MSU-Northern’s Natalee Faupel and Montana Tech’s Hattie Thatcher and Martha Dembek were named to the Frontier Conference All-Conference women’s basketball team.

The post-season honors were announced today, and Cayelyn Orlandi of regular-season and tournament champion Lewis-Clark State was named Player of the Year after averaging 14.1 and 6.7 assists per game.

Faupel, a senior Butte High graduate who was named Player of the Year last year, earned a first-team honor after scoring a league-best 17.4 points per game. She is MSU-Northern’s all-time leading scorer.

Dembek, a senior from Winnett, also earned a spot on the first team after leading the Orediggers with 15.1 points per game.

Thatcher, a senior, received a second-team nod. The Butte High grade averaged 11.6 points and 5.4 assists per game. She broke the Orediggers’ career assists record.

Montana Western’s Aniese Palmore, Carroll College’s Cassidy Hashley and Lewis-Clark State’s Brittney Tackett also made the first team.

The second-team included Western’s Kaye Bignell. The honorable mention lest includes Western’s Britt Cooper and Carroll’s Bailey Pasta and Hannah Dean.

University of Great Falls junior Stephanie McDonagh was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while Rocky Mountain College junior Keisha Engelhardt was named the Newcomer of the Year.

The Freshman of the Year honor was shared by Markaela Francis of Rocky and Jenna Randich of Great Falls. Lewis-Clark State sophomore Hailey Turner was selected the Sixth Player of the Year.

Montana Western coach Lindsay Woolley shared the Coach of the Year honors with Lewis-Clark State’s Brian Orr.

First-Team All-Conference
Cassidy Hashley, Jr., Carroll College
Caelyn Orlandi, Sr., Lewis-Clark State
Brittney Tackett, Jr., Lewis-Clark State
Natalee Faupel, Sr., MSU-Northern
Martha Dembek, Sr., Montana Tech
Aniese Palmore, Sr., Montana Western

Second-Team All-Conference
Sierra Richards, Sr., MSU-Northern
Hattie Thatcher, Sr., Montana Tech
Kaye Bignell, Sr., Montana Western
Hailee Farstveet, Jr., Rocky Mountain College
Stephanie McDonagh, Jr., University of Great Falls

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Bailey Pasta, Jr., Carroll College
Hannah Dean, So., Carroll College
Brooke Litalien, Sr., Lewis-Clark State
Jacy Thompson, Jr., MSU-Northern
Molly Krycik, Sr., MSU-Northern
Britt Cooper, So., Montana Western
Keisha Engelhardt, Jr., Rocky Mountain College
Nneka Nadi, Sr., University of Great Falls