Engellant, Layng win state Hoop Shoot titles

Engellant, Layng win state Hoop Shoot titles

LIVINGSTON — Dillon’s Kyler Engellant and Boulder’s Parker Layng won state titles at the Elks Hoop Shoot State Championships Saturday at Sleeping Giant Middle School.

Engellant won the boys’ 10-11 division, while Layng took home the title in the girls’ 8-9 age group.

Engellant, Layng and the four other state champions crowned Saturday will represent Montana in the Regional Semi-Finals in Rapid City, South Dakota, on Saturday, March 10.

The Regional Champions will advance to the National Finals in Chicago on April 21. The names of the national winners are engraved on plaques at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Participants in the state meet qualified by winning local and then district titles.

Layng won the title in a double shoot out. She made 15 shots to advance to a shootout with Miya Hamilton of Columbus and Aubrey Baxter of Thompson Falls. Lang and Hamilton each made 4 out of 5 shots in the first shootout. Lang beat Thompson 4-0 in the second shootout.

Engellant also won in a shootout. After making 23 of 25 shots, Engellant beat Mason Brosseau of Libby 5-4 in the extra frame.

Other state champions are Will Benne of Bozeman (boys 8-9), Kameryn Ketcham of Big Timber (girls 10-11), Bailey Finn of Big Timber (girls 12-13) and Fischer Brown of Belgrade (boys 12-13).

Butte shooter Cade Kelly placed fifth in the boys’ 8-9 age group.

MacKenzie Layng of Boulder placed third in the girls’ 12-13, while Deer Lodge’s Sara Spring took home fifth place in the girls’ 10-11 division. Also, Carson Toivonen of Superior placed third in the boys’ 8-9 age group.

Elks Hoop Shoot State Championships
Girls 8-9

Parker Layng, Boulder                       15*
Miya Hamilton, Columbus                15
Aubrey Baxter, Thompson Falls        15
Breilla Becker, Stanford                    13
Venice Torres, Glendive                    13

Boys 8-9
Will Benne, Bozeman                        24
Ethan Rivas, Glendive                        22
Carson Toivonen, Superior                19
Brody Stewart, Great Falls                 18
Cade Kelly, Butte                               14

Girls 10-11
Kameryon Ketcham, Big Timber       20
Sophia Handran, Scobey                    18*
Ella Harber, Havre                             18
Gabrielle Hannum, Trout Creek        13
Sara Spring, Deer Lodge                    8

Boys 10-11
Kyler Engellant, Dillon                      23*
Mason Brosseau, Billings                  23
Ryan Beagle, Libby                            19
Tyce Smith, Standford                       15
John Carney, Scobey                          13

Girls 12-13
Bailey Finn, Big Timber                    25
Teryn Gardner, Great Falls                18
MacKenzie Layng, Boulder               17
Avery Chouinard, Kalispell               15
Alexa Reddig, Lustre                         11

Boys 12-13
Fischer Brown, Belgrade                    23
Zachary Fantozzi, Libby                    22
Braxton Wolfe, Scobey                      21
Bo Kelley, Virginia City                    20

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email