Eagles honor Colt Anderson

Butte native Colt Anderson is the Philadelphia Eagles’ recipient of the 2012 Ed Block Courage Award, the team announced this morning.

Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. They are selected in a vote by their teammates for team effort as well as individual performance.

“Colt is the epitome of what this award represents,” Eagles head athletic trainer Rick Burkholder told the team’s website. “He approached every day of his rehab process like it was game day. His intensity and passion and attention to detail allowed him to have such a quick and successful recovery, and I think that’s something that inspires his teammates. Colt is a guy who has had to work extremely hard for everything he has achieved, and this is a well-deserved honor for him.”

Anderson, a former Butte High Bulldog and Montana Grizzly, signed with the Minnesota Vikings after going undrafted in April 2009. He spent a year and a half on the Vikings practice squad before signing with the Eagles in November of 2010.

He recorded 12 special teams tackles that season. Anderson was a special teams force last year before suffering a torn ACL during the Week 13 game in Seattle. Despite missing the final four games of the season, Anderson was still voted by his teammates as the special teams MVP, leading the squad in special teams tackles and production points.

Anderson rehabbed his surgically-repaired knee over the offseason and returned to the lineup for Week 2 of the season. He again is the team leader in special teams tackles and production points.

Anderson started the last two Eagles games at safety, racking up 19 tackles in that span.

Anderson, along with one player from each of the other 31 NFL teams, will be honored at the Ed Block Courage Award Banquet on March 18 in Baltimore.

Previous Eagles Award winners: Mike Patterson (2011), Jason Avant (2010), Michael Vick (2009), Joe Dorenbos (2008), Montae Reagor (2007), Jerome McDougle (2006), Chad Lewis (2005), Derrick Burgess (2004), Correll Buckhalter (2003), Shawn Barber (2002), Duce Staley and Tommy Brasher (2001), Cecil Martin (2000), Mike Mamula (1999), Bobby Taylor (1998), Rhett Hall (1997), Kevin Turner (1996), Charlie Garner (1995), Fred Barnett (1994), Andre Waters (1993), Jerome Brown (1992), David Alexander (1991), Ron Solt (1990), Mike Quick (1989), Wes Hopkins (1988), Gerry Feehery (1987), Jody Schultz (1986), Ron Jaworski (1985), John Spagnola (1984).