Drakos, Schleeman receive top athlete awards at Dahlberg dinner

Three-sport seniors Taylor Drakos and Kade Schleeman were honored as the Butte High athlete-of-the-year winners Wednesday night at the annual Butte High Harry “Swede” Dahlberg All-Sports Banquet held in the Butte Civic Center.
Drakos was chosen the Outstanding Girl Athlete and finished her Bulldogs athletic career with three varsity letters in softball and two each in volleyball and basketball. Schleeman, bound for Montana Tech to play football, earned the coveted Harry “Swede” Dahlberg Outstanding Boy Athlete award. His career saw him gain nine varsity letters – four in wrestling, three in football and two in track.
Drakos and Schleeman were among six athletes honored as Block B recipents, having earned at least seven varsity letters. Trey Hansen had the most with 12, counting four each in wrestling and track, three in football and one in baseball. Bo Demarais and Aydin Gonzales each collected eight letters. Demarais’ were three each in basketball and track, and two in football. Gonzales earned four each in girls’ soccer and girls’ wrestling. Jack Luoma was the other Block B recipient with four letters in soccer, two in track and one in swimming.
Schleeman stacked the awards Wednesday night as he was also named the winner of the Don Tamietti Memorial Scholarship and the Chris Milodragovich Memorial Scholarship.
Kyler Stenson was named the winner of the Frank Mischkot Memorial Scholarship. The “Sig” Meyer Scholarship was presented to Rueso Battermann.
Autumn Silk was presented the Tom Tutty Memorial Scholarship and Grady Winston received the Most Inspirational Student Athlete award.
The banquet was hosted by the Butte Athletic Club. Montana Tech head football coach Kyle Samson was the keynote speaker and J.R. Richardson served as master of ceremonies. Butte High Activities Director Chuck Merrifield presented the awards.
Other award recipients were:
Football – Bo Demarais, Hard Hat Award; Luke Verlanic, Head Hunter Award.
Flag football – Hailey Hotalen and Sophie Radcliffe, Outstanding Player.
Volleyball – Jaycee Cleveland, Outstanding Player on Offense; Brityn Stewart, Outstanding Player on Defense.
Cross country – Evie Smith, Outstanding Girl Runner; Camden Houchin, Mike Hotzel Outstanding Boys’ Distance Runner.
Soccer – Autumn Silk, Outstanding Senior Girl Player; Jack Luoma, Outstanding Boy Player.
Golf – Taylor Sullivan, Outstanding Girl Golfer; Brenner Booth, Outstanding Boy Golfer.
Boys’ basketball – Hudson Luedtke, Bob Rae Boy Basketball Player Award; Rueso Battermann, Outstanding Boy Defensive Boy Basketball Player.
Girls’ basketball – Cadence Graham, Connie Hogan Memorial Outstanding Girl Basketball Player Award; Brityn Stewart, Outstanding Girl Defensive Basketball Player.
Swimming – Lily Jaksha and Olivia Thurmond, Outstanding Girl Swimmer Award; Nathan Stone, Outstanding Boy Swimmer Award.
Wrestling – Maverick McEwen, Tom Renz Outstanding Wrestler award; Nevaeh Grunhuvd, Outstanding Girl Wrestler award.
Tennis – Chloe Jewell, Outstanding Girl Tennis Player award; Matt Weldon, Outstanding Boy Tennis Player award.
Girls’ track – Cadence Graham, Pete Schonsberg Newcomer Track Award; Selene Morrell, Bill Hawke Outstanding Senior Girls’ Track Award.
Boys’ track – Sam Henderson, Outstanding Boys’ Track Award; Rueso Battermann, Bob O’Malley Memorial Boys’ Track Award.
Softball – Ashlinn Mullaney, Outstanding Softball Player on Offense; Gracie Ferriter, Outstanding Softball Player on Defense.
Baseball – Cayde Stajcar, Outstanding Player of Offense; Quinn Cox, Outstanding Player on Defense.