Digger Runners at Frontier Championships Friday

By Montana Tech Sports Information Department

The Montana Tech cross country teams compete at the Frontier Conference Championship in Helena Friday. Carroll College hosts the championship meet at Bill Roberts Golf Course.

“We are excited for our big day to finally be here,” said head coach Zach Kughn. “This is the meet we talk about from the very beginning.”

Both the men’s team finished in second place at the Frontier Conference Preview that always takes place at the same location as the conference championship. The Oredigger women took third.

Edwin Kipainoi and Hailey Nielson led the Orediggers in the first meet with both finishing in second place.


“We have some great depth and excitement coming out of our men’s team right now. They have been laser focused on making nationals but they know they have to get it done on Friday to get there.”

The winning teams at the meet receive the automatic bid for the conference and move on to the NAIA National Championship in Tallahassee, Florida on November 18th.

“Our women’s team has had some great breakthroughs in the last couple weeks from all six athletes. I think they are excited to see how much they can improve and who they can surprise on Friday.”

This is just the third season in competition for the Tech cross country teams. The Oredigger women finished in second place at the conference championship meet but received an at-large bid to the national championship finishing in 11th.

“Everything we’ve done since May has been focused on this meet. With national championships births on the line for both teams and individuals, and of course Conference pride, it doesn’t get more exciting this. Unlike the other sports, we don’t have a
regular season champion or anything like that. Everything we’ve done up to this point, good and bad, is thrown out the window. It’s a clean slate for us and I think we are ready to take advantage of that.”

The winning team will be decided Friday at Bill Roberts Golf Course. The event is open and free to spectators. The men race first at 10:30 a.m. and the women will follow at 11:30.