Dave Dickenson named to College Football HOF

Dave Dickenson named to College Football HOF

ATLANTA, Ga. — Former University of Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson was announced as a member of the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018. Dickenson becomes the fourth Big Sky alum to be inducted, and the first since 2012.

Dickenson will be inducted into the Hall of Fame alongside nine other legendary players and three coaches at the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4 in New York City. Their accomplishments will also be enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

While at Montana, the All-American was a member of a national championship team and won the Walter Payton Award Winner in 1995. He was named to the Grizzly Sports Hall of Fame in 2002. His professional achievements include a 12-year stint mostly in the Canadian Football League for the Calgary Stampeders (1997-2000, 2008) and the BC Lions (2003-07). Inducted into the CFL Hall of Fame in 2015, Dickenson was named the league’s MVP in 2000, and won three Grey Cups (1998, 2006, 2008). He also spent the 2001 and 2002 seasons in the NFL. Dickenson recently led the Calgary Stampeders including the 2017 Grey Cup Championship.

Other Big Sky players inducted in the Hall of Fame include, Bill “Wild Bill” Kelly (Montana, QB, 1924-26) in 1969, Neil Lomax (Portland State, QB, 1977-80) in 1996, and Rex Mirich (Northern Arizona, OT, 1960-63) in 2012.

The class of 2018 includes legendary Players Trevor Cobb – RB, Rice (1989-92), Kerry Collins – QB, Penn State (1991-94), Dave Dickenson – QB, Montana (1992-95), Dana Howard – LB, Illinois (1991-94), Calvin Johnson – WR, Georgia Tech (2004-06), Paul Palmer – RB, Temple (1983-86), Ed Reed – DB, Miami [Fla.] (1998-2001), Matt Stinchcomb – OT, Georgia (1995-98), Aaron Taylor – C/OG, Nebraska (1994-97), Charles Woodson – DB, Michigan (1995-97).

Coaches joining the Hall of Fame include Frank Beamer – 280-144-4 (65.9 percent); Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015), Mack Brown – 244-122-1 (66.6 percent); Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013), Mel Tjeerdsma – 242-82-4 (74.4 percent); Austin College [Texas] (1984-93), Northwest Missouri State (1994-2010).

The inductees were selected from a national ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 98 players and 31 coaches from the divisional ranks.

— Big Sky Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email