Crossroads Shootout has another ‘great weekend’

The numbers were a little lower by design this time around, but tournament director Mike Bauer deemed the 8th Annual Butte Depot Crossroads Shootout full-court basketball tournament a success.

The three-day tournament, which brought numerous former college basketball players to town, wrapped up Sunday in Butte.

“We had another great weekend,” Bauer said. We had a total of 38 teams and many of them were from out of town. There was around 100 players that played that had college playing experience. We also had around 30 referees from out of town and Butte who volunteered their time. Special thanks to everyone for volunteering their time including all the refs and scorekeepers.”

Bauer noted the number of teams was down from years past, but that was because they put a limit on the number of teams that could register per division.

In the first seven years, the Crossroads Shootout as donated $25,000 to Mariah’s’ Challenge. Bauer will announce next month the total amount this year that will be donated to Mariah’s Challenge this year.

Fittingly, a team sponsored by Leo McCarthy Insurance won the men’s open division title, beating Knight & Dahood, Attorneys at Law 76-63 in the championship game.

Former Montana Grizzly Jordan Gregory was named MVP of the division after helping lead his team to the title.

Former Lady Griz player Kelli Cole was the MVP of the women’s open division after leading Barclay’s to a 79-50 win over Elkhorn Mechanical in the championship game.

Kevin Criswell, a former Grizzly, won the MVP of the Men’s B division after The Depot beat Newdle 85-79 in the championship game.

Former Anaconda star Ali Hurley, who also played for the Lady Griz, was named female MVP of the co-ed division after the Bull Bears beat Pow Wow Ball 90-80 in the title game. Former Montana Western player Kyle Erickson was named male MVP.

Championship game results follow.

Men’s Open
Leo McCarthy Insurance 76

JR Camel – Montana, Derek Selvig – Montana, Jordan Gregory – Montana, Pius Takes Horse – Salish Kootenai, Zack Milles – Salish Kootenai College, Howard Walker – Salish Kootenai, Issac Camel – Salish Kootenai
Knight & Dahood, Attorneys at Law 63
Layne Glaus – Western Montana, Terry Hauser – Western Montana, Chad Meyer – Western Montana, Calvin Ento – Montana State, Jordan Overstreet – Western Montana, Garrett Fink – Western Montana
Universal Athletics MVP – Jordan Gregory – Montana
Baden All Stars – JR Camel – Montana, Derek Selvig – Montana, Layne Glaus – Western Montana, Max Butler – Western Montana, Joey Marzion – Western Montana, Brandon Brown – Western Montana

Women’s Open
Barclay’s 79

Ali Hurley – Montana, Carly Selvig – Montana, Lisa Laslovich – Montana Tech, Kelli Cole – Montana
Elkhorn Mechanical 50
Kaye Bignell – Western Montana, Sierra Bignell – Western Montana, Frankie Bignell – Western Montana, Dani Baker – Western Montana, Alexa Welch – Western Montana

Universal Athletics MVP – Kelli Cole – Montana

Baden All Stars – Ali Hurley – Montana, Lisa Laslovich – Montana Tech, Kay Bignell – Western Montana, Sara Chalich – Carroll College

Men’s B
The Depot 85

Jaiger Allen – Montana Tech, Mike Schmidt – Western Montana, Shawn Schroeder – Western Montana, Mike Bauer – Western Montana, Tyler Palmer – Western Montana, Derek Hibbert – Western Montana, Kevin Criswell – Montana, Jeff Riggs – Montana State
Newdle 79
Joel Ahles, Jesse Grilley – Crown College, Byago Diouf – Carroll College, Ryan McDermott – Carroll College, Austin Barth, Mack Bignell, Pius Takes Horse – Salish Kootenia College
Universal Athletics MVP – Kevin Criswell – Montana
Baden All Stars – Tyler Palmer – Western Montana, Jeff Riggs – Montana State, Brady Tippett – Western Montana, Joel Ahles – Flathead

Bull Bears 90

Ali Hurley – Montana, Carly Selvig – Montana, Kyle Erickson – Western Montana, Zach Smith – Western Montana
Pow Wow Ball – 80
Avery Old Coyote, Rae Howe, Cheryl Polacek, Jenna Skunkcap, Dallas Cordier – Southwestern Oregon Community College, Andrea Verdegan – South Dakota State
Male Universal Athletics MVP – Kyle Erickson – Western Montana
Female Universal Athletics MVP – Ali Hurley – Montana
Baden All Stars – Carly Selvig – Montana, Zach Smith – Western Montana, Andrea Verdegan – South Dakota State, Dallas Cordier – Southwestern Oregeon Community College, Ryan Hansen – Western Montana, Meg Ward – Briar Cliff University

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email