Cortner, Norris, Bauck earn Frontier honors

HELENA — Three Montana Tech volleyball players received Frontier Conference post-season recognition.

Bailie Cortner, Sydney Norris and Makenzie Bauck each received a mention on the 2015 Frontier Conference All-Conference Volleyball team, which was released at the volleyball awards banquet Thursday night.

All-freshman team, individual award winners, the NAIA Champions of Character recipients and the Coach of the Year awards were also announced.

Norris, a senior who was named an NAIA Champion of Character, made the first team at outside hitter. Cortner, a junior, received first-team accolades at middle blocker.

Bauck, a junior, made the second team as a setter.

Orediggers Karina Mickelson, an outside hitter, and Brianna Nabbout, a libero, were named to the freshman team.

Kylie McCree of Western was named to the freshman team as an outside hitter, while teammate Mikayla Ness was named a Champion of Character.

Lewis-Clark State outside hitter Kennadie Clute was named Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year.

Brooke Myers of Rocky Mountain was named Libero of the Year. Rocky Mountain College setter Tori Bertsch was Setter of the Year for the second year in a row. Carroll College outside hitter Emily Sullivan was named Freshman of the Year.

Carroll College head coach Moe (Tutty) Boyle, a Butte native, was named Coach of the Year. Carroll’s Christy Cunningham and Christina Eichler were named Assistant Coaches of the Year.

First Team
Crystal Schmidt, Carroll College, Sr., MH; Herminston, Ore.
Rebecca Sweeney, Carroll College, Sr., L; Boise, Idaho
Kennadie Clute, Lewis-Clark State, Jr., OH; Spokane, Wash.
Treneisha Doyle, Lewis-Clark State, Sr., OH; Vancouver, Wash.
Bailie Cortner, Montana Tech, Jr., MB; Red Lodge, Mont.
Sydney Norris, Montana Tech, Sr., OH; Puyallup, Wash.
Tori Bertsch, Rocky Mountain College, Sr., S, Post Falls, Idaho
Ahlea Billis, Rocky Mountain College, Sr., OH, Bozeman, Mont.
Brooke Myers, Rocky Mountain College, Sr., L; Cody, Wyo.
Mariah Stiffarm, Rocky Mountain College, Sr., MB; Billings, Mont.
Kelsee Montagna, University of Great Falls, Sr., RS; Madera, Calif.
Madison Wilhelm, University of Great Falls, Jr., OH; Long Beach, Calif.

Second Team
Paige Montgomery, Carroll College, Jr., OH; Spokane, Wash.
Holly Morehouse, Carroll College, So., RS; Anchorage, Alaska
Russia Robinson, Lewis-Clark State, Sr., L; Hemet, Calif.
Emily Russell, Montana State-Northern, Jr., S; Kalispell, Mont.
Makenzie Bauck, Montana Tech, Jr., S; Florence, Mont.
Devon Bogart, University of Great Falls, Sr., MB; Redondo Beach, Calif.

All-Freshman Team
Rayna Pilgeram, Carroll College, S; Helena, Mont.
Emily Sullivan, Carroll College, OH; Boise, Idaho
Rachel Gregg, Lewis-Clark State, RS; Eagle River, Alaska
Karina Mickelson, Montana Tech, OH; Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Brianna Nabbout, Montana Tech, L; Brea, Calif.
Kylie McCree, Montana Western, OH; Belgrade, Mont.
Hailey Copinga, Rocky Mountain, RS; Billings, Mont.

Champions of Character
Natalie Kassa, Carroll College, Jr., DS; Spokane, Wash.
Stephanie Ovitz, Lewis-Clark, Jr., MH; Chico, Calif.
Taylor Woolman, Montana State-Northern, So., MH; Belgrade, Mont.
Sydney Norris, Montana Tech, Sr., OH; Puyallup, Wash.
Milkayla Ness, Montana Western, Sr., OH/RS; Spokane, Wash.
Aubyn Swigart, Rocky Mountain, Jr., DS; Rapid City, S.D.
Kennedy Chadwick, University of Great Falls, Jr., L; Hamilton, Mont.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email