Coaches selected for Southwest Montana All-Star Classic

Coaching staffs have been selected for the 2015 Southwest Montana All-Star Classic. The event, which is sponsored by the Butte Chamber of Commerce Hospitality Committee, will be held Wednesday, March 18, 2015, at the Maroon Activities Center.

A girls’ game will be held at 5:30pm, followed by a boys game at 7 p.m. Both games will feature the top 24 players from Southwest Montana.

Coaches for the girls’ game will include three former All-State players and a former head coach. The Big Sky girls’ team will be coached by former Butte High girls coach Ted Ackerman and former Butte Central All-State player and assistant coach Jordan (Kambich) McIntyre. McIntyre played collegiately at Montana Tech and MSU Northern.

The Treasure State girls’ team will be coached by former Anaconda High School All-State players, Alli Hurley and Lisa Laslovich. Both players were members of Anaconda High School state championship teams. Hurley played collegiately at the University of Montana and Laslovich played at Montana State Billings and Montana Tech.

In the boys’ game, the Big Sky boys will be coached by former Butte Central assistant coach Brian Yelenich and former All-State player Ryan Murphy. Yelenich was an assistant coach when the Maroons captured the 1992 State Championship and Murphy was the starting point guard. Murphy played collegiately at Carroll College.

The Treasure State boys’ team will be coached by former Dillon head coach Mel Rice and former Deer Lodge head coach Curtis Fox.

Players for the game will be announced on Tuesday. Tickets for the game will go on sale at the Butte Chamber of Commerce on Wednesday.