Bulldogs show off depth in victory over Beavers

Bulldogs show off depth in victory over Beavers

DILLON — Butte High’s wrestling team has a boat load of depth this season.

That was apparent Thursday night as the Bulldogs bulldozed their way to a 52-18 win over the Dillon Beavers in a non-conference dual at the B.W. Lodge Gymnasium.

Butte High, which wrestled a handful of their backup guys, used seven pins, a major decision and a forfeit to rout the Beavers.

“The kids came out ready to go,” Bulldog coach Cory Johnston said. “We were able to get several of our No. 2s in the line-up this time. We know Dillon has some really good kids, and it would be a great test for them, and they passed with flying colors. All of the No. 2s in the varsity line-up got wins tonight, and I think it really shows where our depth is.”

Bulldog pins came from Trey Whitlock (103 pounds), Kip Pumnea (120), Gavin Vetter (126), Wiley Dallaserra (132), Anthony Liva (145), Tucker LeProwse (170), and Zach Tierney (heavyweight).  Connor Konda won by major decision, picking up a 14-0 victory at 138 pounds.

Johnston pointed to the bout between Pumnea and Dillon’s Noah Huffaker. Pumnea picked up the pin in the third period.

“Kip Pumnea had a great win,” Johnston said. “The kid is a returning state finalist, and he pinned Kip earlier in the year. Kip was dominate in the match, and was winning when he got the pin.”

Peter Gibson (152), Cooper Hoffman (182) and Preston Hales (205) picked up victories by pin for the Beavers.

Konda also won an exhibition bout by pin, as did Butte’s Jerek Rosenleaf at 145 pounds.

Butte High will compete in the Class AA Duals Saturday in Great Falls. Johnston said the Bulldogs will continue to work on their depth as they close in on crunch time.

“We plan on getting our twos some more matches this weekend at the AA duals this weekend,” the coach said. “We believe we can be competitive no matter who is in our line-up, and it’s just another step to get ready for February.”

Butte High 52, Dillon 18
103 — Trey Whitlock, Butte, p. Parker Smith, 1:17
113 — Kyler Raiha, Butte, won by forfeit
120 — Kip Pumnea, Butte, p. Noah Huffaker, 5:06
126 — Gavin Vetter, Butte, p. Gunner Wright, :54
132 — Wiley Dallaserra, Butte, p. Kaden Pittman, 1:34
138 — Connor Konda, Butte, maj. Dec. Eli Carlos, 14-0
145 — Anthony Liva, Butte, p. Tate Hanson, 4:31
152 — Peter Gibson, Dillon, p. Jerek Rosenleaf, 3:30
170 — Tucker LeProwse, Butte, p. Tristan Lowell, 2:20
182 — Cooper Hoffman, Dillon, p. Dominick Scown, 3:00
205 — Preston Hales, Dillon, p. Myles McClernan, 1:47
285 — Zach Tierney, Butte, p. Anthony Weary 2:50

138 — Connor Konda, Butte, p. Forest Wagner, 2:59
145 — Jerek Rosenleaf, Butte, d. Tanner Mussard, 5-3

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Archived Radio Broadcasts

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email