Bulldogs, Maroons highlight All-Star rosters

Rosters for the 2022 Southwest Montana High School Basketball Classic were released today.

The games will be played Tuesday, March 15 at the Montana Tech HPER Complex. The boys’ and girls’ games will include a total of 15 players from Butte High and Butte Central.

A committee of sport writers, broadcasters, and media personnel selected the teams after receiving nominations from the coaches of participating schools.

Butte Chamber of Commerce Director Stephanie Sorini said the committee is excited about the caliber of players selected for the games.

“We believe we have assembled some of the best high school players in the state,” Sorini said.

The event will begin at 6 p.m. with a girls’ game. The boys’ game will follow at 7:30. Games will include three-point contests at half-time. A 30-second shot clock will also be featured.

The Classic will pit the Big Sky vs. the Treasure State. The Big Sky boys’ roster includes Bulldogs Kenley Leary, Kooper Klobucar, Jace Stenson and Cameron Gurnsey and Maroons Dougie Peoples, Eric Loos, Bryson Sestrich and Kyle Holter.

The Big Sky girls’ roster includes Butte High’s Kodie Hoagland, Ashley Olson, Laura Rosenleaf and Brook McGrath playing alongside Butte Central’s Brooke Badovinac, Sofee Thatcher and Ella Moodry.

For the first time, the coaching staffs will include three individuals who played in the event. Britt Cooper, Alex Rouse, and Quinn Peoples Carter all played in the Classic. To comply with MHSA post-season coaching rules, boys’ coaches will be coaching the girls’ game and the girls’ coaches will be coaching in the boys’ game.

Tickets for the games will be available Monday, March 14 at the Butte Chamber of Commerce, 1000 George Street. They can also be purchased immediately at 2022swmtallstarclassic.eventbrite.com. They will be available the day of the game at the HPER Complex. The game is sponsored by the Butte Chamber of Commerce Hospitality Committee.

Athletic directors from participating schools will be emailed player packets on Tuesday, March 8, and will be asked to distribute them to players from their schools.

Game rosters follow:

Big Sky Boys
Coaches:  Quinn Peoples-Carter, Alex Rouse


Kenley Leary                 sr.           Butte High

Kooper Klobucar           sr.           Butte High

Jace Stenson                  jr.           Butte High

Cameron Gurnsey          jr.           Butte High

Dougie Peoples              jr.           Butte Central

Eric Loos                       jr.           Butte Central

Bryson Sestrich             sr.           Butte Central

Kyle Holter                    sr.           Butte Central

Lane Wagner                 sr.           Whitehall

Brendan Wagner            sr.           Whitehall

Andrew Tallon               jr.           Granite

Kaiden Batzler               sr.           Sheridan

Zach Gould                    sr.           West Yellowstone

Taylor Hales                  jr.           West Yellowstone


Cade Cathey                  so.          Sheridan

Hayden Mason               sr.           Granite


Treasure State Boys
Coaches: Sara Layng, Britt Cooper


Connor Curnow             sr.           Beaverhead

Jonathan Kirkley           sr.           Beaverhead

Callahan Hoffman         sr.           Beaverhead

Caden Hansen                jr.           Beaverhead

Gabe Galle                     jr.           Anaconda

Cael Mikalatos              so.          Anaconda

Logan Nicholson           sr.           Powell Co.

Martin Ore                     sr.           Harrison

Kyle Homner                 sr.           Harrison

Caleb Parke                   sr.           Drummond

Brand Ostler                  sr.           Ennis

Tyler Harrington            sr.           Jefferson

Trent McMaster             sr.           Jefferson

Conner Nye                    jr.           Twin Bridges


Chase Goldade               sr.           Drummond

Colt Parsons                  jr.           Drummond

Jake Genger                   sr.           Jefferson

Reed Johnson                 jr.           Twin Bridges

Chase Fitzpatrick          sr.           Twin Bridges

Joe Cima                        sr.           Harrison

Ripley Ford                    jr.           Powell Co.


Big Sky Girls
Coaches: Matt Pokorny, Chad Jonart


Kodie Hoagland             sr.           Butte High

Ashley Olson                 sr.           Butte High

Laura Rosenleaf            jr.           Butte High

Brooke McGrath            sr.           Butte High

Brooke Badovinac         jr.           Butte Central

Sofee Thatcher              sr.           Butte Central

Ella Moodry                   so.          Butte Central

Maxine Hoagland          jr.           Whitehall

Rachel Van Blaricom    sr.           Jefferson

Brynna Wolfe                sr.           Jefferson

Holly Hauptman            sr.           Drummond

Emmie Collins               sr.           West Yellowstone

Faith Larsen                   sr.           Sheridan


Dakota Edminsten         sr.           Jefferson

Cia Stuber                      sr.           Jefferson

Brooke Grow                 sr.           Sheridan

Katie Gronning              jr.           Sheridan

Emily LaYocona            so.          Sheridan

Lindsay Briggs              so.          Whitehall

Grace Dawkins              so.          West Yellowstone


Treasure State Girls
Coaches: Zach Murphy, Paul Monforton


Ainsley Shipman           sr.           Beaverhead

Lauryn Petersen             sr.           Beaverhead

Halle Fitzgerald             so.          Beaverhead

Makena Patrick             so.          Anaconda

Alyssa Peterson             sr.           Anaconda

Sami Johnson                 sr.           Anaconda

Emma Konen                 so.          Twin Bridges

Allie Dale                      so.          Twin Bridges

Kyle Pancost                  so.          Twin Bridges

Taryn Lamb                   so.          Powell Co.

Asha Comings               sr.           Granite Co.

Reece Pitcher                 sr.           Granite Co.

Marlyssa Ledgerwood   sr.           Ennis


Ayla Janzen                   so.          Twin Bridges

Lexie Stocket                 sr.           Twin Bridges

Shelbey Klein                sr.           Ennis

Natalie Spring                sr.           Powell Co.

Nia McClanahan            sr.           Powell Co.

Jordyn Walker               sr.           Beaverhead

Evey Hansen                  sr.           Beaverhead