Bulldogs cut through Gillette field for mats title

Bulldogs cut through Gillette field for mats title
Butte High Takes First Place in Gillette.

GILLETTE, Wyoming – Butte High went undefeated against a star field of teams to win the Pat Weede Memorial high school wrestling tournament completed Saturday at Campbell County High School.

The Bulldogs put together an 8-0 record in the duals format tourney, capping it with a 45-31 win over Thunder Valley as 106-pounder Keegan Hunt, 113-pounder Ryder McEwen, 152-pounder Bryton Hardesty, 182-pounder Kale Schonsberg and 192-pounder Cohen Grunhuvd scored pins, Mason Christian won by technical fall at 220 and Trey Hansen on a major decision at 160.

Butte High head coach Cory Johnston pointed out that Moorcraft has won seven of the past eight Wyoming state Class 2A high school wrestling championships.

The Bulldogs were led in the 47-28 win over Moorcraft by pins from Hunt, Colter Espelin at 120, Will Stepan at 145, Hansen,  Schonsberg, Grunhuvd and Christian. Kip Pumnea had a technical fall at 132 pounds.

Four Butte High wrestlers – Hunt, McEwen, Grunhuvd and Christian — won outstanding wrestler awards. Hunt was also the quick-pin champion.

“The kids competed at an extremely high level,” Johnston told buttesports.com by social media. “We beat not only some of the top teams in Wyoming, but also had a great dual win over a great Montana team, Sidney. It seemed like every dual, someone different stepped up. Each not only got eight matches, but, in most cases, it was eight high-quality competition matches.

“This will only benefit us as we move into the January/February portion of our schedule.”

Sidney has won the last five state Class A crowns. Butte High wins over Wyoming teams from Douglas, Sheridan, Rock Springs, Star Valley and Campbell County Thunder Valley also came against top five caliber teams from that state. Douglas was the 2022 3A runner-up and Star Valley is the reigning 3A champ. Thunder Basin won the Class 4A Wyoming title a year ago and Sheridan was third in 4A.

Tournament results are available on the trackwrestling.com site.

Grady Winston, Reid Whitlock, Aiden Cuchine, Kade Schleeman and Zack Tierney also contributed points to Butte High’s championship effort at the Weede tourney.

— compiled by Bruce Sayler for buttesports.com



Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email