Bowling champs crowned

Bowling champs crowned

The Butte USBC City Bowling Championships were held recently at the Star Lanes.  The Championships consisted of the 15th Annual USBC City Open Tournament and 8th Annual Women’s USBC Singles Tournament.

Todd Edelen (Division 1) and Justin Harcharik (Division 2) claimed the scratch all-events champions of the Open Championship Tournament. Kalee Tripp (Division 1) and Peggy Markovich (Division 2) won the championships of the Women’s Open Tournament.

Ed Robbins posted the high game of the tournament, rolling a 289. Edelen’s 781 was the top scratch series.

Every year the Butte Bowling Association sponsors honor teams made up of some of our oldest active bowlers.  This year’s men’s honor team was made up of Chuck Pewitt, Ray Marshall, Robert Marcantelli, and Leroy Lee.  Eva Johnson, Joan Murphy, Marianne Hanie, and June Chandler made up the women’s honor team that came in first place in division two.

This year’s championship tournament was made up of 65 bowlers in Division 1 (average 175 and up), 58 bowlers in Division 2 (average 174 and under) for a total of 123 bowlers that made up 37 teams, 52 doubles, 104 singles, and 88 all events entries.

This is the eighth year that the women’s tournament has been a singles event only.  The tournament had 10 bowlers in Division 1 (average 153 and up), and 14 bowlers in Division 2 (average 152 and under).

— Story submitted by Galen Rich, association manager

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email