Bobcat kicker named to Jerry Rice watch list

BOZEMAN — Montana State freshman kicker Blake Glessner earned a spot on the watch list for the Stats Perform 2021 Jerry Rice Award, presented to the top freshman in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).

Glessner joins 21 other players, including two from the Big Sky, on the watch list for the 11th Jerry Rice Award. The Bobcat kicker is one of three Big Sky players on the season’s initial Jerry Rice Award Watch List, and is the only kicker. Glessner has connected on 15 of his 18 attempted field goals this season, fifth-most by a Bobcat in a season in school history. He connected on a 53-yarder in MSU’s season opener at Wyoming, and his 54-yard boot against Idaho State makes him only the third kicker in MSU history with two 50-yarders in a season (joining Jason Cunningham and Luke Daly).

To be eligible for the Rice Award, a freshman can’t have surpassed four games played in one previous academic year – similar to the NCAA’s regular redshirt rule. More players can join the watch list before a 50-member, national media panel selects the winner following the regular season. Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Glessner joins the following players in the Jerry Rice Award Watch List…

Place-kicker: Blake Gessner, Montana State (Big Sky).Quarterbacks: Demeatric Crenshaw, Youngstown State (MVFC); Zevi Eckhaus, Bryant (NEC); RJ Martinez, Northern Arizona (Big Sky); Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State (SWAC). Running Backs: Elijah Burris, Hampton (Big South); Kobe Dillon, Southern (SWAC); Darius Hale, Central Arkansas (ASUN); Sy’Veon Wilkerson, Delaware State (MEAC). Wide Receivers: Nate Bennett, Portland State (Big Sky); Jacari Carter, Merrimack (NEC); Drae McCray, Austin Peay (OVC); Jalyn Witcher, Presbyterian (Pioneer). Defensive Linemen: Thor Griffith, Harvard (Ivy); Josiah Silver, New Hampshire (CAA). Linebackers: James Conway, Fordham (Patriot); Rodney Dansby, Houston Baptist (Southland); Tyler King, Stony Brook (CAA); Bryce Norman, Southeast Missouri (OVC). Defensive Backs: Marsean Fisher, Tarleton (WAC); Andreas Keaton, Western Carolina (Southern); Dominick Poole, The Citadel (Southern).

— Montana State