Big Sky sky players make Buchanan watch list

Big Sky sky players make Buchanan watch list

Four linebackers and one defensive back headline the Big Sky’s representatives on the 2021 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List, as Stats Perform continued its preseason honor announcements leading into the fall football campaign.

Click here for the full FCS Stats Perform release.

Linebackers Troy Andersen of Montana State, La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis of Southern Utah, Jace Lewis of Montana and Tre Walker of Idaho made the cut, while defensive back Anthony Adams of Portland State rounded out the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List honorees for the Big Sky.

Four of the 14 linebackers on the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List hail from the Big Sky, as the league boasts the most linebackers on the list of any conference. Kaho’ohanohano-Davis and Walker were both finalists for the award in the 2021 spring slate, while Adams was a finalist back in 2019.

More players can join the watch list during the regular season, and a national media panel will select the winner following it. Dexter Coakley won the inaugural Buchanan in 1995 and repeated a year later, but there hasn’t been a two-time recipient since, although other past winners such as Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen and Arthur Moats joined Coakley with excellent NFL careers.

Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

— Big Sky Conference

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email