Big Sky boys outshoot Treasure State, 112-100

Big Sky boys outshoot Treasure State, 112-100
Butte High's Clay Ferguson of the Big Sky All-Stars launches a 3-pointer during the Southwest Montana All-Star Classic Tuesday night at the Maroon Activities Center. (Bill Foley photo)

By Bill Foley

Dyllen McDermid of Deer Lodge and Michael Haverfield of Dillon led their respective teams Tuesday night at the Southwest Montana All-Star Classic at the Maroon Activities Center.

The MVP award, however, hast to go to Keith Ogolin, Sean Ryan and Jon Kinzle.

Those are the three referees who only got a halftime break as the 26 All-Stars lit up the scoreboard at the Maroon Activities Center.

When the dust settled on the back-and-forth affair, the Big Sky All-Stars found themselves on the right side of a 112-100 decision.

While each team had 13 players and subbed liberally, the three officials had no subs. They also donated their time to the annual game that raises money for the Butte Chamber of Hospitality Committee.

The large crowd might have been the biggest winner in the entertaining game that came down to the last team with a big run wins.

That turned out to be Big Sky, which included four players from Butte High and four from Butte Central.

The game saw 29 made 3-pointers. Of those, 20 came from Treasure State. Nine came from Haverfield, a senior who has signed to play at Montana Western.

With all the long balls raining down, though, it was an old-fashioned three-point play turned the momentum to Big Sky for the final time. Butte High senior Danny McCloskey scored and sank a foul shot that started a 27-8 Big Sky run to end the game.

That came with 5 minutes, 33 seconds left in a game in which the Treasure State was about to close out.

Haverfield had just hit a 3-pointer, and Twin Bridges’ Daniel Kruer knocked down a two to put the Treasure State on top 92-85.

Harrison’s Vern Homner followed McCloskey’s triple play with a bucket before Anaconda’s Leroy Wilson answered with a 3-point play for a 95-90 Treasure State edge.

Butte Central’s Dylan Sestrich hit one of two shots from the free throw line before Luke Heaphy hit a three. Then, McDermid took a nice pass from Deer Lodge teammate Greydon Nicholson and put the Big Sky boys on top for good at 96-95.

Bit Sky extended the lead to 108-95 when Maroon Braden Harrington buried a three.

That was too much for the Treasure State to overcome.

Treasure State opened with a Haverfield three, only to see Big Sky use a 13-3 run for a 13-6 edge. Treasure State, though, closed out the first quarter with a 19-5 run for a 25-18 advantage.

The Treasure State boys led 51-48 at the half, and Big Sky closed the third quarter with a 17-2 run for an 80-69 lead heading into the fourth.

In the final frame, Treasure State had one more run before Big Sky took over. A 23-5 Treasure State streak finished with Big Sky staring at a 92-85.

That all changed with McCloskey’s three-point play.

McDermid’s 16 points — all on 2-point buckets — led the Big Sky. Maroons Cade Holter and Sestrich each scored 13 in the win. Whitehall’s Clay Wolfe scored 12 points, and McCloskey tossed in 10.

Big Sky also got eight points from Heaphy, seven from Harrington, Butte High’s Clay Ferguson and Boulder’s Bryce Harrington, six from Homner and Nicholson, five from Bulldog Kash Kelly and three from fellow Bulldog Trevyn Roth.

Haverfield finished with 29 to pace Treasure state.

Kruer scored 14, Rakich scored 11, and Wilson and Drummond’s John Parke each scored nine. Parke also won the 3-point contest during halftime of the girls’ game, edging Braden Harrington in a shootout.

Treasure State also got seven points from Jake Hughes of Twin Bridges, six from Sammy Loffin of West Yellowstone, four from Trevor Swanson of Ennis and three apiece for Michael Galle of Anaconda and Brice Nye of Twin Bridges.

Luke Holland of Drummond and Kade Cutler of Philipsburg also played for Treasure State.

Butte Central girls’ assistants Quinn Peoples and Hattie Thatcher coached the Big Sky All-Stars. Ennis coaches Jordan Overstreet and Mady Speck led Treasure State.

TREASURE STATE — Michael Galle 1 0-0 3, Leroy Wilson 4 0-0 9, Michael Haverfield 10 0-0 29, Jace Fitzgerald 3 0-0 9, Bradley Rakich 5 0-0 11, Jonah Parke 3 1-1 9, Luke Holland 0 0-0 0, Trevor Swanson 1 2-2 4, Kade Cutler 0 0-0 0, Brice Nye 1 0-0 3, Daniel Kruer 4 0-0 14, Jake Hughes 2 2-2 7, Sammy Loffin 2 2-2 6.
BIG SKY — Cade Holter 4 0-0 13, Dylan Sestrich 6 0-1 13, Braden Harrington 3 0-0 7, Luke Heaphy 3 0-0 8, Kash Kelly 2 0-0 5, Clay Ferguson 3 1-1 7, Trevyn Roth 1 0-0 3, Danny McCloskey 4 1-1 10, Vern Homner 3 0-0 6, Bryce Harrington 2 2-2 7, Dyllen McDermid 8 0-0 16, Greydon Nicholson 3 0-0 6, Clay Wolfe 5 2-3 12.
Treasure State                       25        26        18        31 — 100
Big Sky                                   18        30        32        32 — 112

3-point goals — Treasure State 20 (Haverfield 9, Kruer 3, Fitzgerald 3, Parke 2, Galle, Wilson, Nye), Big Sky 9 (Heaphy 2, Kelly, Roth, McCloskey, Holland, Holter, Sestrich, B. Harrington).


Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email