BC’s Leary, Cooney, Neumann honored

Butte Central volleyball players Danee Leary, Mariah Cooney and Danika Neumann received postseason honors Monday.

Leary, one of the top all-around players in the state, was named All-State. She also earned a spot on the first team of the Southwestern A All-Conference squad.

Cooney also earned first-team All-Conference honors, while Neumann, the team’s libero, was named to the second team.

The three BC seniors led the Maroons to their first-ever trip to the Class A State tournament this season. They are also three key members of the Butte Central basketball team.

2012 Southwestern A All-Conference Volleyball Team
Coach of the Year — Kasey Arceniega, Corvallis.
MVP — Penny Gwynn, jr, Hamilton.
All-State Selections
Laura Berner, jr, Corvallis; Kennedy Chadwick, sr, Hamilton; Penny Gwynn, jr, Hamilton; Danee Leary, sr, Butte Central.
First-Team All-Conference
Laura Berner, jr, Corvallis; Kennedy Chadwick, sr, Hamilton; Mariah Cooney, sr, Butte Central; Penny Gwynn, jr, Hamilton; Kelsey Irwin, soph, Corvallis; Danee Leary, sr, Butte Central.
Second-Team All-Conference
Joanna Avery, jr, Corvallis; Brooke Chapman, sr, Anaconda; Danika Neumann, sr, Butte Central; Kyla Paulsen, jr, Stevensville; Josee Pendleton, jr, Dillon; Jacki Richardson, sr, Dillon.
Honorable Mention
Taylor Flynn, jr, Anaconda; Taryn Judge, jr, Dillon; Karli King, sr, Anaconda; Katie Patterson, jr, Corvallis; Alex Price, jr, Corvallis; Mackinzie Zimmerman, jr, Stevensville.