B girls, AA boys rule Hi-Line

HAVRE — The Class B girls and Class AA boys claimed team titles at the 27th Hi-Line Invitational Tournament tonight at the Armory Gymnasium on the MSU-Northern campus.

Jill Barta of Fairfield scored 20 points to lead the B girls to a 71-61victory over the Class AA girls in the championship game.

Butte High senior and MSU-Northern signee Natalee Faupel scored 13 points to pace the AA girls in the loss. Faupel, apparently comfortable in her future home, earned a spot on the All-Tournament team. She scored nine points to help her team top the C girls 68-60 in overtime earlier Saturday.

Barta earned the tournament scoring title.

On the boys’ side, Tad Rose of Billings Central and Dylan Tatarka each scored 23 points to lead the AA boys past the B boys,  93-90, in the championship game.

Whitehall senior Casey McLean, who won the tourney scoring title for boys, tossed in 21 points to lead the B boys.

The Class C boys beat the Class A boys 112-98 for third place. Butte Central senior Brady Tippett scored 21 points to lead the A boys in that game.

Gavin DeJong of Manhattan won Saturday’s dunk contest.

Class AA 68, Class C 60 OT

Class AA— Michaela Dowdy 16, Nora Klick 11, Kaye Bignell 9, Natalee Faupel 9.
Class C— Martha Dembek 14, Britta Young 11, Katie Fertterer 12.

Class C 85, Class A 48

Class A— Peyton Filius 13, Morgan Mazurkiewicz 10, Tori Mazurkiewicz 8.
Class C— Martha Dembek 29, Katie Fertterer 13, Makhayla Farmer 13.

Class B 71, Class AA 61

Class AA — Natalee Faupel 13, Taylor Kumm 12, Nora Klick 9.
Class B — Jill Barta 20, Brooke Jones 15, Jordyn Johnson 12.

All-Tournament — Jill Barta, Fairfield; Martha Dembek, Winnett-Grass Range; Jordyn Johnson, Fairfield; Nora Klick, Great Falls High; Liz Klinker, Great Falls High; Kyla Paulson, Stevensville; Courtney Henry, Malta; Natalee Faupel, Butte; Michaela Dowdy, Helena Capital; Kara Gerke, Belt; Katie Fertterer, belt.

MVP — Jill Barta, Fairfield. . Scoring champion — Jill Barta, Fairfield. Miss Defense— Britta Young, Augusta. Miss Hustle — Mazurkiewicz, Havre.

Class AA 89, Class C 83
Class AA
— Dylan Tatarka 26, Tad Rose 13, Adam Huse 9, Garth Grimsrud 9.
Class C — Chad Kananen 16, Mark Papp 16, Tiegen Johnson 12.

Class C 112, Class A 98

Class A — Jared Schultz 24, Brett Thompson 24, Brady Tippett 21.
Class C— Tiegen Johnson 43, Chad Kananen 19, Mark Papp 17.

Championship boys
Class AA 93, Class B 90

Class AA — Tad Rose 23, Dylan Tatarka 23, Carson Dummer 18.
Class B — Casey McLean 21, Kendall Denham 16, Aaron Ward 14.

All-Tournament — Kendall Denham, Malta; Dylan Tatarka, Great Falls High; Meciah Zilkoski, Wolf Point; Casey McLean, Whitehall; Marcus Payne, Livingston; Tiegan Johnson, Dutton-Brady; Gavin DeJong, Manhattan; Tad Rose, Billings Senior; Chad Kananen, Roy-Winifred; Jared Schultz, Stevensville; Quinn McQueary, Manhattan; Brett Thompson, Laurel.

MVP — Kendall Denham, Malta. Dunk champion — Gavin DeJong, Manhattan. Scoring champion — Casey McLean, Whitehall (boys). Mr. Defense — Zack Camel, Arlee. Mr. Hustle — Tatarka, Great Falls High.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Print this Page

Print Friendly, PDF & Email